Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-05-2004, 06:42 PM
justinbahrami justinbahrami is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Pro Tools freezes when opening sessions

Suddenly, my pro tools software will not open any sessions. The program opens just fine, but when i start a new session or open an old one, it builds the edit and mix windows, but will not load any tracks in them. The computer freezes with the beach ball spinning and says, "unable to load tracks". I have to reastart.

The digidesign core audio drives works just fine and i can use my Mbox to play computer sounds without any trouble so i think my pro tools software has been somehow damaged.

I have tried: a clean unintall and reinstall of Pro Tools, trashing any preferences that i can find, checking the hard drive for errors, and reinstalling the system (without formating). The only other thing that i can think of is totally formating the hard drive and starting over from scratch.

Anyone have any suggestions before i start backing up my life?

Running Mbox with Pro Tools LE 6.4 on G4 iBook 1Ghz, OS 10.3.4

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-06-2004, 04:06 PM
DVDave DVDave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: MPLS
Posts: 96
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when opening sessions

At first it sounds like memory issue.......have upgraded an OS or anything ?

what precipitated this behavior ?

i heard a guy found his RAM wasn't properly installed who had similar issues.

Im surprised you havn't got more replies.......you need to find someone who this has happened to......sorry i couldn't be more help.......i just hate to read a post and offer nothing.

try a search w/ diff. keywords : Freezes....re-install, etc

also......this is a big issue, keep asking for help, as post get old the people who could really help might miss it.

something it surley screwed up........RAM is strained or internal conlict........have tried loading from a diff. project-song......PT is weird at times, if you have too many characters in a title you will get an error code..........weird.

try other support like FAQ and even tek support.........maybe they would help if its a know issue, if it was on a PC
i would understand, but your iBook should run smooth unless something was done w/o knowing

goodluck
__________________
DVDave
Minnesota
d-kreitz@msn.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-06-2004, 06:03 PM
justinbahrami justinbahrami is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Re: Pro Tools freezes when opening sessions

I got it working again!

I found a list from Digidesign of all the possible prefrences- then i trashed all of them and it solved the problem. I am surprised that the uninstall did not remove them! I miss the old days where they put all of this stuff together in one folder and there was none of this multi-user crap...oh well

just for reference they are:

-Trash Pro Tools preferences Go to Users > “your user name” > Library > Preferences and trash DAE Prefs, DigiSetup.OSX and Pro Tools LE 6.0 prefs. Then restart the CPU.

-For all Mounted Hard drives trash Volume.ddb files: Located In MacHD (and other mounted HD's) > Digidesign Databases > trash volume.ddb

-Trash Databases Folder (If present):
Located in MacHD > Library > Application Support > Digidesign > trash databases folder
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools Freezes When Opening Sessions farrantch Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 12 05-30-2013 04:40 PM
Pro Tools freezes when trying to open old sessions js_nyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-03-2011 03:54 PM
Opening Old Pro Tools Sessions danthemanweiler macOS 2 01-03-2011 02:48 PM
My computer freezes when opening Pro Tools 7 M-powered. Ageless84 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 05-12-2010 12:27 PM
pro tools freezes when opening theo_celano 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-24-2009 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com