Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2022, 05:11 AM
stigc56 stigc56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 45
Default Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Hi
I have this issue: When I use my Artist Mix to write automation in Cubase/Logic/Pro Tools the unit loses connection after around 25 sec and the writing of automation is interrupted, although my finger is on the fader ALL the time.
Finding the same faillure in 3 DAWs make me believe that it has to do with the unit itself.
Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

Any information/help will be much appreciated.

Regards
Stig Schristensen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2022, 08:54 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,176
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Your problem is more likely your network
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2022, 09:54 AM
stigc56 stigc56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 45
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

No I don't think so, because the unit doesn't get disconnected, but jumps out of write mode.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-25-2022, 12:19 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,176
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by stigc56 View Post
No I don't think so, because the unit doesn't get disconnected, but jumps out of write mode.
You don't have to disconnect.
Packet loss will create this kind of stoppage.
Let's start with the basics, how is it connected (through a switch, direct, etc?)
Also, have you power-cycled the Mix and have you checked all firmware updates have been applied.

You've mentioned zero info on your setup: computer, operating system version, what version of Eucontrol are you using, what version of Pro Tools are you using?
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2022.7, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniS1 x 2, FireHD x 2, Dock, iPad Mac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 4TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-27-2022, 08:29 AM
stigc56 stigc56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 45
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Hi
It's connected through a switch. I use this switch to run 2 VSL servers a Mac and a PC, working just fine.

I use Mac Cubase 12, but the problems is present in Logic and Pro Tools as well.

Furthermore it occurs after the same amount of time during an automation pass. At around 28 sec in the pass the DAW jumps out of automation recording, the fader sticks to the present position.

Everything is updated to the last version.
__________________
MacPro 6.1 8 core 128gb, MacPro 12 core 48Gb, PC i9 64gb. UA Apollo, Waves, NI, ++ PT12, LogicX, Cubase12, Nuendo 12, Studio One, Digital Performer. Steinway ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2022, 05:33 AM
SKI's Avatar
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,177
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by stigc56 View Post
Hi
It's connected through a switch. I use this switch to run 2 VSL servers a Mac and a PC, working just fine.

I use Mac Cubase 12, but the problems is present in Logic and Pro Tools as well.

Furthermore it occurs after the same amount of time during an automation pass. At around 28 sec in the pass the DAW jumps out of automation recording, the fader sticks to the present position.

Everything is updated to the last version.
Question do you still see the problem if you connect the unit directly to your computer without the switch or the servers connected using Pro Tools?

I have found that variables in network aspects can have strange affects on controller functions.
It's best to simplify some of the variables when looking for a problem.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2022, 05:49 AM
stigc56 stigc56 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 45
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Hi!

I will try that!
Regards
__________________
MacPro 6.1 8 core 128gb, MacPro 12 core 48Gb, PC i9 64gb. UA Apollo, Waves, NI, ++ PT12, LogicX, Cubase12, Nuendo 12, Studio One, Digital Performer. Steinway ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-2022, 11:08 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3,817
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix loosing connection when in touch mode

Try this to see if the touch stays on in test mode https://avid.secure.force.com/pkb/ar...%20test%20mode.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Artist Mix Replacement touch-sensitive rotary encoders kuaise Artist Series 44 10-29-2022 11:52 AM
Avid Artist Mix - Touch input not working as it should pmanialong Artist Series 0 04-16-2022 05:07 AM
Artist control loosing connection planck Artist Series 11 07-08-2019 10:35 PM
Artist Mix: Faders in touch mode are "crancky" home_studio Artist Series 5 10-14-2018 04:34 AM
Avid Artist lost touch sensitivity Mischdepp Artist Series 3 04-16-2013 12:29 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com