Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-21-2013, 11:44 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Hello Everybody:

This plugin is on sale for $29 bucks, so I figured I had nothing to lose; if it could let me monitor surround in a set of stereo headphones, that pretty cool. Problem is, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to insert it on a 5.1 track in Pro Tools. The only thing I can use it on is a stereo track, which sort of defeats the purpose. And the manual is worthless; absolutely NO instruction about how to properly inset it into a surround track.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Chris Conlee
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2013, 05:59 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Anybody? The promise of this little plugin is really great. But it is extremely hard to find any info on it. Has ANYBODY used it?

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2013, 07:59 AM
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 475
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Have you registered for support?

http://gemini.fluxhome.com/account/login
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-22-2013, 08:32 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

I had not seen that link before; I did, however, send an email to support.

Thanks for the link though, I will try it.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-22-2013, 09:33 AM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conleec View Post
Hello Everybody:

This plugin is on sale for $29 bucks, so I figured I had nothing to lose; if it could let me monitor surround in a set of stereo headphones, that pretty cool. Problem is, I cannot for the life of me figure out how to insert it on a 5.1 track in Pro Tools. The only thing I can use it on is a stereo track, which sort of defeats the purpose. And the manual is worthless; absolutely NO instruction about how to properly inset it into a surround track.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Chris Conlee
It's pretty simple, really: Just insert it on a 5.1 track or bus and choose the appropriate input routing. You can either use to 5.1/Stereo instance which will change the output of your buss to stereo, or the 5.1/5.1 instance, which will leave the output as it is.
That being said: I don't really see much of a use for this plug - to me, everything seems to be pushed a bit to the back and there's no clear distinction between front and rear.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-22-2013, 10:40 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Well that's just it: it doesn't appear in the list of available plugins when trying to insert into a 5.1 track. It appears fine when inserting into a stereo track.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2013, 10:42 AM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.armadillo View Post
That being said: I don't really see much of a use for this plug - to me, everything seems to be pushed a bit to the back and there's no clear distinction between front and rear.
I figured it would be a compromised solution for portable work on a laptop. Not expecting it to replace a proper surround setup. But it would be nice if would at least allow me to insert it so I could hear what it does.

Chris
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-22-2013, 11:33 AM
mr.armadillo mr.armadillo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 826
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by conleec View Post
Well that's just it: it doesn't appear in the list of available plugins when trying to insert into a 5.1 track. It appears fine when inserting into a stereo track.

Chris
That's weird. It does show up here just fine. What's your setup?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-22-2013, 12:04 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Hmmm, I have tried it now on my Macbook Pro with Pro Tools 10 and 11 and now on my Mac Pro at work, running Pro Tools 11. It works on neither machine. I've attached screengrabs from work: One showing the FLUX: IRCAM plugins on a stereo track. And the other shows that they don't even appear on the 5.1 track.

I've tried audio tracks, aux inputs and master faders. None will accept the plugin. WTH?

Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IRCAM_Stereo_Fine2.jpg (65.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IRCAM_Surround_Missing2.jpg (65.1 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-23-2013, 09:22 PM
conleec conleec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 574
Default Re: Ircam HEar v3 -- How to Use?

Okay, I uninstalled the AAX build and downloaded the old RTAS version; which works perfectly. Clearly it's a bug in the AAX version. But how do you possibly release a "surround" monitoring solution which won't let you monitor surround? WTH?

Of course, no response yet from Flux.

For what it's worth, I found the results to be better than expected. Would really like to make the AAX version work in PT11HD, as I think it would be very helpful on occasion.

Chris
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Flux Ircam Hear and Verb Session HolB Buy & Sell 0 02-07-2013 02:47 PM
is anybody using IRCAM SPAT ??? made Pro Tools 10 0 08-31-2012 04:13 AM
Ircam Verb Session RTAS not loading? nienhuis47 macOS 3 05-22-2012 04:57 AM
Ircam Tools - TRAX trouble - 7054 GS-DK Pro Tools 9 0 11-15-2010 09:58 AM
Flux IRCAM Spat plug-in ianstonehouse Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-07-2010 02:45 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com