Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-10-2002, 08:26 PM
edhamilton edhamilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NYC - Vegas these days
Posts: 172
Default New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

We are adding an HD3 rig to our newest room. Thus we need a new computer.

Has anyone had success with the new dual processor macs and either HD or Mix systems???

I would greatly apprectiate all input!

thanks

ed
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-11-2002, 06:26 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

i love my 933 quicksilver and PT HD but if i had to buy a new puter today - i'd probably get a dual processor and diable duality til digi gets X compatible

it is inevitable that it will come and you'll be ahead of the game with a faster box

get the fastest and best because you deserve it unless you are waiting around for the next life to enjoy your good.
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-11-2002, 08:59 AM
timcissell timcissell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Richardson,TX, USA
Posts: 109
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

I got my Dual Gig G4 (Loudfans version) hooked up to a Digi 7-slut expansion chassis with PT 5.3.1 and HD|3 running under OS 9.2.2

I've only had it hooked up for a few days and haven't tried any torture session tests... but it's working just fine. Looks good, sounds good.

I'd say go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2002, 09:19 AM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 431
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

Tim, did you repartition your boot drive, or go with 0sX and 9.2.2 on the same drive?
I haven't put HD on my dual 867 yet but found it to be about the same volume as my quicksilver 733, about 56 db @ 2 feet which is about the same as my pentium 2 400 with no drives or anything inside. One more question, if I intall HD on my new 867 I'll have used up 2 installs, thats all you get right? What do you pay to get another when you switch to a new Mac? Thanks
Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-11-2002, 10:22 AM
edhamilton edhamilton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: NYC - Vegas these days
Posts: 172
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

Thanks for the input!

Daniel,
Contact digi cutomer service. You can freely move your system to a new computer as you see fit. I am not sure how the copy protection works on HD but digi must allow you as many installs as you need for free! (as long as you are only using one rig at a time)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2002, 10:25 AM
PacMan PacMan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 271
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

56 db is pretty damn loud.

I'd hate to be sitting next to that, trying to do some work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-12-2002, 12:34 AM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 431
Default Re: New G4\'s and Mix or HD?? Anyone out there trying this?

Well, its 56db at 2 feet,Its not really a problem for me cause its under my desk about 6 ft from my ears so I don't think its messin with the high end but,there is a machine room in my future!
Daniel
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New G4's Flosstein 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 09-21-2002 12:53 AM
New G4's are here! c-tone Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 01-30-2002 07:09 AM
New G4's when???? roberts General Discussion 3 10-05-2001 04:27 PM
New G4's(466/566) w/PT v5.0.1 themaskedman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-28-2001 08:39 PM
pt le and new g4's usinare 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-10-2001 08:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com