Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2004, 11:59 AM
Ignatius Reilly Ignatius Reilly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Posts: 44
Default Signal path for turntable

I'd like to start playing around with saving some of my vinyl onto CD, sampling, etc. I'm wondering if anybody out there has used their DIGI hardware for this and/or has any info on the signal path of amplification from a magnetic cartidge on a turntable into computer. I've got a little Mackie 1202 mixer I could dedicate to the project. It seems like with the various pre-amp stages and gains available between that and my 001 (soon to be 002R), I wouldn't need another preamp or stereo receiver. I know I can experiment, but I just want to make sure I'm not missing something obvious that would screw everything up.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2004, 12:04 PM
hobo123455 hobo123455 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 74
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

I clean up some old records for an older country artist. I used the waves restoration plugins which are great BTW.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2004, 12:42 PM
Chris Cavell Chris Cavell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Louisiana, USA
Posts: 4,831
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

you need an RIAA rated phono pre...www.paia.com has some for very cheap if you're inclined to build it yourself, I think ART makes one too.
__________________
Cavell Studios
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2004, 12:53 PM
tele_player tele_player is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 6,557
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

the riaa curve can also be done with a plugin, so you'd really just need a preamp to get the output of the cartridge into ProTools.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, 4.5G RAM


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2004, 04:13 PM
3JDamon 3JDamon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 896
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

You need a proper RIAA preamp that also matches impedence properly. A receiver does the trick fine, probably the cheapest thing that offers a better circuit path is a Soundcraft Notepad for about $150, whose stereo line inputs can be switched to RIAA standard. It also has substantially better preamps than your Mackie (I've compared them side-by-side). If you modified it to have inserts on each mic preamp it would be a good cheap way to add 4 preamps for the 002R's line inputs.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-27-2004, 05:22 PM
6969 6969 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 873
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

This is how I do it

Turntable RCA L and R to
Art DeeJay Pre RCA INPUT left and right
Art DeeJay Pre RCA OUTPUT left and right to
Digi Box 1/4" Analog channel 3(L) and 4(R)

I then go into HARDWARE setup and adjust the INPUT GAIN to get the hottest level without clipping.

The Art DeeJay Pre is under $50 I think.

Hope this helps.

DJ



__________________
6969
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2004, 07:40 AM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Signal path for turntable

YOu should adjust the input sensitivity for the output sensitivity fo the mixer, most likely either -10dbV(if it's RCA) or +4dbu(if it's TRS or XLR) See the manual or the manufacturers website for specs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire signal path nplmdthfan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 07-15-2010 03:10 PM
Signal Path (for an 001) Cavet Your Eruptor 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-28-2006 12:55 PM
Signal Path bluesna Tips & Tricks 0 01-10-2005 01:02 AM
signal path plug-in nightshade crisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-09-2002 11:31 PM
C 24 signal path (does this look right?) sidereal ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 3 03-19-2001 01:12 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com