Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-27-2000, 11:20 PM
Raven Raven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Posts: 158
Default Pro Tools for live recording - long sessions...

Hi,
A friend of mine recorded a 2 hour concert on 16 tracks with a MIX plus on a G4/450. The file takes a looooong time to open, asks for more memory, says that the disk is de-fragmented (when it is not) etc. and generally seems sluggish. Is there any issue with the way Pro Tools handles BIG file sizes and very long sessions.What is the memory allocation recommended. Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-28-2000, 06:07 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: Pro Tools for live recording - long sessions...

RAM requirements for overviews are about 1% of the space required for the audio (i.e., for every 100MB of disk space used by audio for a given session, you need to allocate 1MB of memory to Pro Tools to hold the overviews).

For your session, a little dimensional analysis would yeild the following:
120min x 5MB x .01 x 16=
96MB memory allocated to Pro Tools.

I would also bump DAE's memory up to 80MB (maybe as much as 100MB if you are running Waves).

-When altering the memory sizes of Pro Tools and/or DAE, never change the Minimum memory size. If you have, you can set it back to the default setting by typing a 0 into the field and press Enter on the numerical keypad.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-28-2000, 10:14 PM
Jeff D. Jeff D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 805
Default Re: Pro Tools for live recording - long sessions...

Raven,

I've recorded a number of live shows using Digi001. I've recorded using all 18 inputs for 2+ hours with no errors, delays, or lost audio. I record to a single IDE drive in a G4 400.

However, I did have to increase the memory allocations as Brent suggested. It confounded me for awhile until I figured that out...

Good Luck,

Jeff D.

__________________
www.jephthastudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Excessive CPU Usage In Pro Tools with long sessions dropking Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 04-21-2010 07:23 AM
Need he taking my recording sessions live kaleah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-26-2009 01:10 AM
Long Sessions / Live Concert Multi-Tracking geelo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-14-2008 04:13 PM
003: PT LE is dead! Long live Pro Tools (but how?) DrDVD 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 80 03-19-2007 09:52 PM
Long live sessions: problem SOLVED!! Again!! JPS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 04-27-2004 06:09 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com