Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-15-2021, 02:03 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,939
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Monterey is still a disaster even after 12.1 update. Memory leak problems are fewer but they are still there. If you want to use M1 on a production environment you better keep using Big Sur
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 12-15-2021, 02:24 AM
jeremiahmoore jeremiahmoore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 488
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

yes... the point is to run M1 max and such, and they don't run Big Sur.

I've had my finger poised on the buy button for weeks, still poised.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12-15-2021, 02:25 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,939
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

12.1 is more usable than the initial 12.0.1 buggy rushed release, but still not completely there.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12-16-2021, 03:35 PM
Fish Horse Fish Horse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 46
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

This is an interesting post about trashcan cpu / gpu / OS / PT graphics performance. It seems that we're losing graphics performance on the Pro Tools UI with each OS update.

https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2622602&postcount=7

Unfortunately, the mac mini M1 16GB suffers from the same UI slowness on sessions with many plugins on screen. Yet the cpu and gpu have plenty of headroom when looking at activity monitor.
Let's hope a silicon version of PT solves this in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-16-2021, 04:14 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 923
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

That's unusual. I am running the same machine with Big Sur and it is as snappy as ever. No sluggishness at all.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx

MacPro 6,1 6core 32GB / LogicProX / IzotopeRX9+ / SourceConnect / MelodyneStudio5 / WAVES Mercury / NI KompleteUltimate / ProToolsUltimate / RME UFXII / AVID S3 + DOCK / Barefoot MM27 gen2 / Barefoot FP01
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-17-2021, 01:24 AM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 246
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

I did a test install on a M1 Mac Mini 16GB running 12.0.1 and PT2021.12 latest Eucon, Blackmagic Ultra Monitor Thunderbolt, and Metric Halo Ethernet Audio. Mixing a short film using Waves 12, Izotope, Fabfilter ProQ and some Flux plugins. Tested more exotic plugins like GRM Tools.

Everything was working without any issue. Very snappy.
On a test session with 256 tracks each loaded with Fabfilter and a Compressor and sending to 6 Phoenix 5.1 Reverb Aux tracks while playing DNxHD36 Video. The external SSD got a bit warm, the Blackmagic video hardware got warm, the Mac stayed cool running 48h in a loop with CPU at around 80%. Depending on the buffer.
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2021.12, OS 10.15.1, S3, Transport, (EuCon 2021.10.1)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 6.24, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2021.12 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-17-2021, 01:44 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,939
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish Horse View Post
This is an interesting post about trashcan cpu / gpu / OS / PT graphics performance. It seems that we're losing graphics performance on the Pro Tools UI with each OS update.

https://duc.avid.com/showpost.php?p=2622602&postcount=7

Unfortunately, the mac mini M1 16GB suffers from the same UI slowness on sessions with many plugins on screen. Yet the cpu and gpu have plenty of headroom when looking at activity monitor.
Let's hope a silicon version of PT solves this in the future.

Those are the infamous memory leaks. You would probably not notice if there was 64GB but this 16GB requires wverytging is native software and runs smoothly


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-19-2021, 03:58 PM
made made is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Berlin
Posts: 246
Default Re: Is Apple M1 Working Finally?

The problem in the post is with BigSur. You heard of memory leaks in 12.0.1

I didn't experience any memory leak on 12.1 so far. The only thing that is using an unusual amount of memory is Avid Video Engine and Avid Link. Just saw that Avid link is using 150% CPU without anything running except Finder and EuControl...
__________________
i7 3,39GHz, 32GB, PTHD2021.12, OS 10.15.1, S3, Transport, (EuCon 2021.10.1)
LIO
AJA XT-Express
Reaper 6.24, Fireface UCX
MacbookPro i7 PTHD2021.12 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally got it all working like it should!... Recording Room Artist Series 1 07-19-2014 11:37 PM
Pro Tools HD 8.1.1 on Win 7 64 bits - Finally working nobody Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-12-2011 01:56 AM
Apple's Flash Fix. Finally! But watch for HP Print.. aka21stCentury General Discussion 0 01-13-2011 10:34 AM
IT'S OVER___7.3 FINALLY working hki 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 20 12-23-2006 12:09 AM
Apple Finally Lose My Vote mike.x 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 10-23-2003 01:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com