Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2011, 04:52 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Default Cannot open PT10(CONVERTED)session in PT9

This is a major problem. Everytime I get message.

Assertion in ".../../NewFileLibs/FF/Audio/
Elastic/FF_PacketIterator.h, line 74
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2011, 04:53 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Default PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

This is a major problem. Everytime I get message.

Assertion in ".../../NewFileLibs/FF/Audio/
Elastic/FF_PacketIterator.h, line 74
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2011, 05:01 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

You mean sessions that were saved under the save session copy options in Pro Tools 10 ?

Do you have non rendered Elastic Audio tracks in the original Pro Tools 10 session ? If so can you try to render those and then save in a Pro Tools 9 compatible format and try again.

Also, make sure you delete your digisetup / dae prefs on the Pro Tools 9 system to make sure there's nothing wrong on that end.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2011, 05:07 AM
fullmonty fullmonty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London
Posts: 65
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

We have been trying save PT10 sessions to PT9 and get the same error message

We did some EQ'ing on clips using Audiosuite then rendered all the clips...Save session as PT7-PT9 which made all new audio. When trying to open this save session copy with the rendered audio in PT9, the Line 74 error came up and the session wouldn't open properly and the tracks all got lost and disappeared
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-01-2011, 06:43 AM
fullmonty fullmonty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London
Posts: 65
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

I've just done a further test. I had a session made in PT9 and opened this up in PT10 and saved it as a PT10 session. I then saved this as a PT7*PT9 session and opened this session up in PT9. There were no problems

This suggests strongly that the problem is with rendered/elastic files created in PT10 that is causing the issue when saving it as a PT9 session. This is a big important problem which needs to resolved asap if users are to continue using PT10, as we all need to be sure that we can open PT10 made sessions and all of its audio/automation in PT9, as in reality this is the everyday workflow working with various editors and studios etc
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-2011, 07:46 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

In response to DigiTechSupt...

Yes, these are saved under the save session copy option.

I dont have elastic tracks and have tried deleting digisetup etc.

All I did in the PT10 session was take advantage of the audiosuite handles and processed alot of files (which created new files)

Also when opening in PT9 It could not find these files even though they were in the audio files folder. I had to individually use find all candidates to relink. But still, huge graphics crashes and the error message I mentioned every 2 seconds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-2011, 09:58 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

Any response from tech support?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:23 AM
drumzalicious drumzalicious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 311
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moviesound View Post
Any response from tech support?
hopefully no response means they are trying to figure it out. Did you try making a new session in PT 9 then telling it to import session data from the copy of the PT10 session?

So save session from PTX for PT7-9.
Make new session in 9
Tell 9 to import the PT7-9 copy of the session.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:58 AM
Moviesound Moviesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

Yep, tried that. No luck
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:42 AM
fullmonty fullmonty is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: London
Posts: 65
Default Re: PT9 doesn't open PT10 sessions that are converted

Any response from tech support 2 days later?...this is kind of important to put it mildly!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2013 11:14 AM
will PTHD 8 open PT10 sessions? vnetstudio Pro Tools 10 2 11-19-2012 09:15 AM
After Xpand install, PT10 crashes while open old sessions Simon Andersson macOS 1 06-21-2012 05:50 PM
sessions always open with mix window track list open jaglance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-03-2009 06:03 PM
PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions! chanlon25 Post - Surround - Video 4 03-03-2009 10:11 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com