Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-2010, 01:08 PM
papasight papasight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Just bought Pro Tools Rack 003+, opened the packaging and tried to install it on my PowerPC g5 mac osx 10.5.8 and...it won't install. Tech support says bad installation disc, will send me a new one. In the meantime I can download it from a link they sent me. Download keeps cancelling and says 23 hr download time. My broadband is fine, so it's not my service. I call back, wait on the line an hour, they tell me this time they will send a direct link. 1/2 hour later, no link. Now I am on the line...waiting. I have been using Logic for 4 yrs with NO issues. Apples tech support is great. Can't say the same for digidesign. And I just find out they are not open on Saturdays. All wknd i will sit without pro tools. Why am i switching to pro tools ? Because when i start school in the fall, the program in Audio engineering uses pro tools. Sounds like lobbying to me that made it the industry standard. You will never hear so much moaning and bitching amongst Logic users, just check the forums. I am not a hater and will continue to give pro tools a chance because i have no other choice, but what a horrible intro !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-07-2010, 03:02 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Dude, seriously. You are just whining. Everybody gets the short end once in a while because of situations beyond everyone's control. It was your turn I guess..

And this is a User Forum, so the other users really won't be too interested in your complaining unless maybe there is something that could be done to make things better with some advice..

You haven't even gotten PT installed and you are kvetching... So just stay with Logic if you are convinced that Apple's support will make your experience a more pleasant one..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:16 PM
papasight papasight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

You're right. I am just whining. Wish I didn't have a reason to though as the short end of the stick is really not something anyone should get with a brand new $1800 system ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:20 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,118
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

As far as I can tell, the short end you got was that you have to wait a couple days for AVID to get it right... BFD, right?

Try downloading again. Unless you are an IT professional with access to your internet provider's network you are not in a position to assure that the D/L problem is not "on your end" somehow...
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:24 PM
AvidCS's Avatar
AvidCS AvidCS is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Posts: 1,156
Post Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Sorry things started off like this... looks like you spoke to Tech Support just after your first post and they provided you with a DigiDelivery link.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2010, 04:27 PM
Thetics Thetics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 15
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Not trying to be a smartass.. but cant you just return the product to the store and get a new one? (Yes i know there is a possibility that they are out, but Digi003R+ are far from a needle in a hay stack. And yes i know its opened, and its got product codes and bla bla bla, but if you explain your situation, most places might understand)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-07-2010, 05:48 PM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,072
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Just register it on avid.com and download it from your account. Should take no less than 20 minutes. Mine downloads in about 15 minutes, but I have Fios 35kbps internet.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

UAD 2 Apollo Quad w/Thunderbolt 3, UAD 2 Satellite Octo TB3, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Avid S1, Neve R6 500 Chasis, Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Dangerous DBox+, Focal Trio6 Be, Neumann TLM49, Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61

Pro Tools 2021.12

Mac Pro 7,1 2019, 8 Core, 48GB RAM - MacOS 11.6.2

16" MacBook Pro 2021, M1 Pro, 16GB RAM - MacOS 12.1

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - MacOS 10.15
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-07-2010, 06:52 PM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,536
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by papasight View Post
Just bought Pro Tools Rack 003+, opened the packaging and tried to install it on my PowerPC g5 mac osx 10.5.8 and...it won't install.
The problem is probably you are trying to install Protools LE 8.0.3 (the current version) which was written to work on an Intel based Mac. From you post you have an older PowerPC G5 Mac which I think won't work. I might have my facts wrong so please check the compatibility again. It may save you a lot of frustration.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
MacbookPro14,3 - Intel Core i7 3.1 GHz, 16 GB
MacOS 13.6.7 running Protools 2024.3.1

Mac Studio M1Max - 64GB
MacOS 14.5 running Protools 2024.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-07-2010, 07:12 PM
basslik's Avatar
basslik basslik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 2,047
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
The problem is probably you are trying to install Protools LE 8.0.3 (the current version) which was written to work on an Intel based Mac. From you post you have an older PowerPC G5 Mac which I think won't work. I might have my facts wrong so please check the compatibility again. It may save you a lot of frustration.
Also make sure your firewall is allowing the packets through?
__________________
MAC PRO 2010 5,1 3.46hex 128ram - MONTEREY 12.7.4- PT 2024.3 / 003 RACK SIGNATURE MOD / DIGIMAX FS / PCM90 2CHANNEL SPDIF

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-07-2010, 07:27 PM
soundboy35 soundboy35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Depends
Posts: 1,306
Default Re: Not A Good PT8 Intro...

PT 8.0.3, PPC - no dice. 8.0.1 is the last version like on HD
http://avid.custkb.com/avid/app/self...p?DocId=353149

Ideally the store that sold it to you should've asked what computer you have, but we all know how that goes....
Too bad you can't download 8.0.1 from AVID, since you paid for 8.0.3 As I remember v8.0 was 4+ gigs, which took me a long time to download.

Depending on where you live, I bet you could get a copy of 8 this weekend from Craigslist, etc.
Sux when you buy something and can't use it...especially this stuff!
__________________
MacBook Pro 15in, 2.3gHz,i7
PT 2021.x
PT12.8.x
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Newbie intro and questions Whats Happening macOS 1 08-28-2011 08:02 PM
How to add an intro? Sonic Blue Meanie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 03-12-2010 07:40 AM
Intro and some trouble PT_n00b Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 01-30-2009 05:49 PM
OT: Born To Run - Snare Intro j old school 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 06-02-2004 11:20 PM
OT: Intro...The Akai MPC 1000 WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-19-2003 01:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com