Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2009, 09:10 AM
ctreitzell ctreitzell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Exclamation PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

There are few things in life more disappointing than attempting to install Pro Tools on a windows system. Giving money is one thing, the time-stealing is a more unproffesional product of trusting digidesign. The narrow-mindedly juvenile "Get a mac" mentality is totally unacceptable & is exactly the rebuttal I expect from this DUC. I'd love to be positive about this, but the upgrade to PT8 has been nothing but hassle. I've spent 4 days troubleshooting the mbox & PT8 yielding non-starters.

I installed SawStudio Lite in about 15 sec on this same brand new Sony VGN-SR29VN running vista business 32bit. Yes, I know this machine is not really the best solution, but crikey, Adobe Master Suite CS4 installed in no time & runs fantastically.

A google search on the above error dialog returns threads about low registry memory. I really don't have any more time to double-check the 200+ tweaks for vista suggested by the cumbersome digi website.

Other manufacterer's software works on Sonys & my need for a rewire multitrack can be purchased elsewhere. Seems that when Avid takes an order for Pro Tools, they should ensure the customer's system compatibility. I spent hours reading up before my purchase & could find no issues other than the sony FZ....does that mean all sonys? No computer software trouble-shooting should be this difficult for end users.

_CT
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2009, 10:12 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,810
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

try updating your pace driver the likely culprit
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 4-11-2024)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I9 14900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2009, 10:34 AM
quietP4 quietP4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 46
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

Computer > Properties > Advanced System Settings > Advanced settings, Performance section, click on the Settings button > Data Execution Prevention (DEP)...

Make sure this is set to "Turn on DEP for essential Windows programs and services only."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2009, 10:35 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,422
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

"Seems that when Avid takes an order for Pro Tools, they should ensure the customer's system compatibility."

Beg to differ. Because:
1. They POST known-working configurations. It's OUR responsibility as end-users to do a little research first. IMHO they've gone above and beyond the call of duty finding configurations that they know WILL work.
2. Can you imagine the kind of TIME that would take??? I've seen threads on here go on for WEEKS 'cause people won't look at the compatibility documents before they buy computer hardware. And since time=money, that would drive the prices thru the roof, plus you'd never get thru to a service rep 'cause he'd be too busy talking with someone else about why his insisted-upon configuration isn't compatible....

Funny you should metion SAW (GREAt piece of software, BTW). I came over from SAW Pro, and one of the FIRST mistakes I made was buying PC parts that "looked pretty good on paper" and wouldn't run Saw AT ALL. Every attempting at recording was an instant blue-screen. Even that program has some very specific requirements, but there was no list of "here's what works" for it. PLUS, it was $950 for JUST the software, and you were pretty much on your own finding hardware that worked.

Oh, and just went from 7.4 cs9 to 8.0 cs2 on TWO machines in about one hour total.
ZERO issues, cause I read the compatibility pages. It took 5 hours to download, but setup was a no-brainer and everything works. We're talking 002 rack and original Mbox.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2009, 10:38 AM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 7,161
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

Amen.

Not to mention the "bleeding edge gurus" who pioneer the way-out-there and post their results, configurations AND help with troubleshooting. They really should be on Avid's payroll they perform such a great service.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at reasonable rates
Demos: brucehayward dot com
SonoBus
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Options for Remote Direction
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2009, 12:31 AM
ctreitzell ctreitzell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

Thanks for these responses...I'll respond in the event this thread is helping anyone who might be lurking:

Update Pace driver- I'll buy that...; except I just downloaded PT8 thurs evening. You mean to tell me this is not already handled for a "brand new" purchase/release?...if it is the case, should not the end user be informed by the vendor upon download? If a new pace driver is required, when should it be installed? During PT8 install? After? before?

DEP- all done for all progs...is that my mistake? I gave privledges to certain progs rather than the setting quietP4 gave... I set my DEP as stated on this DUC in the vista tweaks area.
...ok, this could be part of it...will report back if this fixes...

sw rec- I'm afraid my touch of sarcasm didn't come across well as I do recognise the time&money implications double-checking every machine...I suppose I meant that as kind of a joke. I have spent weeks over the past few months looking at & reading the compatibility pages on the overinflated digidesign website. Exceptionally more than "a little time" is required for researching compatibilty when it comes to PT. There is no "simple spreadsheet". If I missed it: please direct me to where the digi website states: compatibilty issue with laptop: Sony vaio VGN-SR29VN...I searched for many hours & could find an issue with a Sony FZ model-there are many different models of sony machines....are you suggesting I didn't do any research? or that you see many threads about ppl who do not. I do as much research as time allows- & I reiterate-the digi compatibility area is cumbersome...it's like reading a eula with links to yet more eulas with links & so on.
..hmmm, also- I'm not sure I understand why it's funny I should mention SS? Possibly that's the reason you responded to my post? Maybe it's to give a shoutout for SAW on the PT forum which is always nice to see...I agree about the compatibilty issues that where a problem with SAW Pro. The old adage: " We buy machines to run the software we want to use, not the other way around". Also, I'm curious if your updates from PT7.4 to 8 where on vista as you don't state.

Fact is after 10 hrs downloading & "the could take 30 min" installing, hardware driver registration error & PT8 will not launch after installation. Heck, the installation setup didn't start for about 10min after clicking the setup.exe with no warnings, & task manager doesn't see the pending action!?! Don't get me wrong, I'm not fuming mad...I just believe a using a prog of PTs caliber should be easier with avery well known pc manufacturer (Sony) than my experience. I kinda agree with some posts I read here on the DUC regarding beta testing altho it could be with "selected" users of "all" known systems...big task? yes...& I suppose that is what this DUC is for, hence my post as I could find no other error message exactly matching the one I've been experiencing- yet I don't intend to spend countless hours on this forum...I got stuff to make.

_CT
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-17-2009, 09:01 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,810
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

Quote:
Update Pace driver- I'll buy that...; except I just downloaded PT8 thurs evening. You mean to tell me this is not already handled for a "brand new" purchase/release?...if it is the case, should not the end user be informed by the vendor upon download? If a new pace driver is required, when should it be installed? During PT8 install? After? before?
it is a third party app that pro tools incorporates, so pace updates and makes changes to it as they see fit. not actually controlled by digi, so yes there could be probs right away. this is not a new occurance. has happened many times.

you can install it whenever. it will just overwrite the old file, so after pt is fine. as time goes and you get new plugs and things like that it could have to be updated again.

i wont touch vista for a daw, to many issues. but dep with wrong settings is a known problem also.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 4-11-2024)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I9 14900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-17-2009, 04:03 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,422
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

1. "Funny" is just a figure of speech, nothing to overthink there.......
2. Win xp. I agree with guitardom, way too many issues.
3. PT/SAW shootout? Saw wouldn't stand a chance.
4. I doubt if you'll find many references to the laptops that WON'T work..they can't test EVERYTHING! Last time I helped set up a PT laptop, we went to the "approved laptops" page and picked one. It runs just fine. Think it was an HP but it's been awhile.
http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=27738
5. I responded 'cause I'd like to help. Previous platforms have nothing to do with it!
But, how's progress?????
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-18-2009, 03:15 AM
ctreitzell ctreitzell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

Thanks for all your kind help...progress is not happening...virgin adsl problems on my line since their outage on last friday at 2:30pm (coincidentally, as I was installing PT8!) No internet when not on the phone (just a never ending hassle in my area of North London, really).

My intention with getting PT8 was to digitize some cassette & dat tapes that I've been meaning to do for years while working on website(s) on a different machine. I would happily use mbox 2 with SSL- but it only appears to record on left side when patched to SSL. I really don't have any more time just now to dive into setting up an xp partition on my new vista machine(s). I've spent 5 days trying to upgrade to PT8 already! I could probably get my P4 recording with PT7.3 & XP with much less effort as I know that works for audio....I've never been able to get mbox2 midi to work on that machine, tho...P4 is just rather noisy & a bit long in the tooth. I will likely go with purchasing a better audio interface & use SSL tho for future as mbox is pretty hokey...I'm thinkin rme.

I will reply with my vista related PT8 when I get a chance to sort, as I will need a reason host & PT has the corner on the pro market, so I need remain aware.

thanks,
_CT
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2010, 02:08 PM
bearsass bearsass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: PT8 MBox 2 PACERegister error: -529697949

I started out asking for help after recieving an email from Avid after completing a survey because I was having so much noise trouble with PT Essentials. I was directed to Sweetwater and thier tech tip page that instructed me to change a few settings ie; DEP settings, power management, display, and UAC settings. After following these PT refused to open. I uninstalled and reinstalled, I even did the same for my interface. Still nothing. Then I tried restoring my PC to an earlier date, still nothing. I tried updating Paceregister, still nothing. These problems have been there since I first bought the unit and software, and I don't know about anyone else, but I've never bought a new refridgerator,TV,Stereo, or even my coumputer that I've had to immediatley work on and have to keep on working on just to get what I was promised when I put out my money. This whole thing is ridiculous and the only help seems to be in the form of people that want to blame me for the shortcomings of this piece of crap. All my research was for naught because everyone from these forums to Sweetwater to Guitar Center assured me that it would work fine with my system. Even the compatibility list matched up with my system. And yet here I sit with an interface and software thats not worth as much as cheap toilet paper. And so since I bought the extended warranty I'm going to take this junk back because now it qualifies as broken.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PACERegister error 255 pc123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-15-2011 05:06 PM
PACERegister Error 3 Darr01 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 04-19-2010 10:39 PM
PaceRegister Error Werihukka Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 0 11-19-2009 08:39 AM
PT8 has "Paceregister return error 3" jefflennan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-13-2009 07:38 AM
PaceRegister Error:3 WinXP non-AMD Jamesz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-08-2009 01:07 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com