Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2022, 02:01 AM
Chevron Chevron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 254
Default Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

I've been a long-time user of Console 1 with Pro Tools, and love it. It really helps to move quickly and the static layout is really great to become accustomed to.

Recently though I have seen some great videos on the Avid dock, and I have to say it looks very cool. Takes up similar desk space, and has way more features and is much more powerful.

I feel that maybe only having 8 knobs might be a drawback, but maybe not.

I am curious if anyone also made the change from C1 to the Avid dock?
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3| Eucon 2023.11 | Mac OS 14.3.1 | Soundflow | Streamdeck | 16" Apple MacBook Pro M3 Max 16 Core 64 GB RAM | 2020 MacBook Pro 13" M1 16 GB RAM | Hackintosh i9 9900KS 32 GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2022, 08:23 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

I can't speak to Console 1 but the recently released Custom plugin knob layouts certainly helps with the 8 knobs. Also coming later this year you can build these with 2 controls per knob and switch between them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2022, 10:03 AM
originalscottyg originalscottyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,368
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
I can't speak to Console 1 but the recently released Custom plugin knob layouts certainly helps with the 8 knobs. Also coming later this year you can build these with 2 controls per knob and switch between them.
That's awesome Eddie! Any chance the switching is done via the push-click?
__________________
Scott Gatteño
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2022, 10:14 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Click the Sel switch
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-26-2022, 05:23 AM
Chevron Chevron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Europe
Posts: 254
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Click the Sel switch switch
Excuse my ignorance, what is the "Sel switch switch"?
__________________
Pro Tools Studio 2024.3| Eucon 2023.11 | Mac OS 14.3.1 | Soundflow | Streamdeck | 16" Apple MacBook Pro M3 Max 16 Core 64 GB RAM | 2020 MacBook Pro 13" M1 16 GB RAM | Hackintosh i9 9900KS 32 GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-26-2022, 09:22 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Its the switch to the left of the knobs
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2022, 12:13 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 4,587
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by originalscottyg View Post
That's awesome Eddie! Any chance the switching is done via the push-click?
Are you OK with dropping into automation each time you switch between knobs? Pushing the knob top, touches the knob so this would happen.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2023, 02:30 PM
BlueTardis BlueTardis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2023
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevron View Post
I've been a long-time user of Console 1 with Pro Tools, and love it. It really helps to move quickly and the static layout is really great to become accustomed to.

Recently though I have seen some great videos on the Avid dock, and I have to say it looks very cool. Takes up similar desk space, and has way more features and is much more powerful.

I feel that maybe only having 8 knobs might be a drawback, but maybe not.

I am curious if anyone also made the change from C1 to the Avid dock?
How did you go with this?
I find myself in a similar conundrum.

I love that I can assign anything anywhere but I am frustrated by the lack of actual knobs. I dont need more faders I need more knobs.
(I am generally working with "console style" plugins and these are consistent but have an EQ/Dynamics/etc layout that uses around 18-20. I know I can split these across pages but ideally would need 9 per page.)

The Console1 does this relatively well (but doesnt seem to play well with 3rd party plugins).
Avid control dock/fader setups seem great - be awesome to have an expansion of just knobs though.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2023, 08:44 AM
SKI's Avatar
SKI SKI is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,199
Default Re: Moving From Softube Console 1 to Avid dock?

The combination of the Dock and tablet allows for some quick navigation if you take the time to learn and associate the flow.

The tablet gives a great representation of what you are doing as well as the ability to actually control things while maintaining what I feel is a logical layout for the controls on the hardware.

I'm really a fan of how easy it is to understand the flow of EUCON devices.
__________________
URBAN MUSIC-
(Hip Hop and R&B)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Softube Console 1 jgec Pro Tools | Intro Discussion 3 09-26-2020 07:28 PM
Softube Console 1 MKII New Yodah Buy & Sell 0 02-22-2019 07:36 PM
FS: Softube Console 1 MK II $349 joepopp Buy & Sell 0 02-03-2019 10:05 AM
Softube Console #1 in PT's 10 mikeyman Pro Tools 10 0 03-23-2018 10:14 PM
FS: Softube Console 1 *Mint* crandallwarren Buy & Sell 1 03-29-2015 09:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com