Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post    Community Terms of Use    Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search    Community Search    Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2022, 07:33 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,090
Default Pluggable dock ok?

As I continue to gather parts for my impending switch to MAC STUDIO MAX, Im wondering if any of you has experience with the Pluggable UD6950 PDZ Thunderbolt dock? What Im liking primarily about it is the 3 Displayport connections, which is how all of my monitors are connected now. Thanks in advance for your help!
https://www.newegg.com/plugable-tech...1DN-000M-000B0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-02-2022, 06:39 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,394
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
As I continue to gather parts for my impending switch to MAC STUDIO MAX, I’m wondering if any of you has experience with the Pluggable UD6950 PDZ Thunderbolt dock? What I’m liking primarily about it is the 3 Displayport connections, which is how all of my monitors are connected now. Thanks in advance for your help!
https://www.newegg.com/plugable-tech...1DN-000M-000B0
This Dock is USB not Thunderbolt and it uses DisplayLink technology to run displays. Which means it chews up CPU power for displays, not GPU. The Mac Studio has plenty of ports capable of driving multiple display directly. You just need to buy the appropriate cables or adapters. Or, get a proper Thunderbolt hub. IMHO
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-02-2022, 06:58 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,090
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Aha, they tout it as “thunderbolt COMPATIBLE,” and I didn’t realize that monitors on USB-C were cpu hogs. OWC says this is an actual Thunderbolt dock: better?
https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/owc-thunderbolt-dock
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2022, 07:08 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,394
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Aha, they tout it as “thunderbolt COMPATIBLE,” and I didn’t realize that monitors on USB-C were cpu hogs. OWC says this is an actual Thunderbolt dock: better?
https://eshop.macsales.com/shop/owc-thunderbolt-dock
OWC makes excellent docks. I use their TB3 Dock on my M1 machine but this is a TB3 Dock, not TB4 on Mac if that matters to you. It will only run 1 display on M1/M2 Macs. They do not specify about Mac Studio

Actual display support varies by computer specifications. Supported Intel-based Apple Mac models and Thunderbolt 4 PCs support two displays over a Thunderbolt port. Apple silicon M1 and M2 Mac models support a single display over a Thunderbolt port.

Again,
The Mac Studio can support up to five displays: one display through HDMI, and then four additional displays using Thunderbolt 4.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-02-2022, 07:19 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,090
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Looking at the back of the Mac Studio Max, I’d run out of thunderbolt ports…I need to connect my Apollo, Sonnet Expansion chassis, and 3 monitors, so I’m one port short. But. Could feasibly run the 3rd off the hdmi port. (It’s terribly OCD of me, but I’m trying to avoid snaking permanent cables around to the front of the MAC.)

Last edited by sw rec; 10-02-2022 at 07:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2022, 07:26 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,394
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
Looking at the back of the Mac Studio Max, Id run out of thunderbolt portsI need to connect my Apollo, Magma Expansion chassis, and 3 monitors, so Im one port short. But. Could feasibly run the 3rd off the hdmi port. (Its terrible OCD of me, but Im trying to avoid snaking permanent cables around to the front of the MAC.)
You can daisy chain off the expansion chassis. Bt even still. You have 4 TB4 ports in back and yes, why wouldnt you use the HDMI port?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-02-2022, 04:52 PM
bradch00 bradch00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lions Bay, Canada - Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Posts: 1,249
Default Re: Pluggable dock ok?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sw rec View Post
(Its terribly OCD of me, but Im trying to avoid snaking permanent cables around to the front of the MAC.)
Thanks! I thought it was just me....
__________________
Pro Tools, Studio One Pro
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max 64GB-1TB NVME
OWC Thunderbay Mini (4TB SSD)
OWC Express 4M2 (4 X 2TB)
Interface: Presonus Quantum
Presonus Faderport & Faderport 8
Black Lion Sparrow Mk2 A/D, FMR-RNP-RNC, MIDI Xpress 128
BM5A, KRK VXT4, Equator D5
2020 Macbook Pro 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD Audio(mobile rig)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dock + Raven VS Dock + S1 emankayker Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion 0 11-26-2020 03:30 PM
2 s1 and no dock enough? FilterDecay Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 4 05-18-2020 06:04 AM
Suggestion: Users of S3&Dock together: dock fader becomes 5th VCA master fader bassmagnetic Avid S1, S3, Dock and Control App 0 10-01-2016 08:20 AM
T20 dock??? babilonburning 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-18-2000 03:01 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com