Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2009, 10:56 AM
Bizarro Bluze Bizarro Bluze is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 12
Default Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

I have Pro Tools 8.0 installed on a Vista 64-bit system (8Ghz RAM, 3.1 AMD processor). My computer is lightening fast, and I figured that ProTools would be great with it. But I recently learned that the 64-bit platform is not approved for ProTools, which I have to say, is very disappointing. 64-bit is nothing new. Why can't DIGI get with the program and release a 64-bit compatible version?

Regardless, my understanding is that Vista 64-bit will run 32-bit programs in 32-bit mode. So why wouldn't Vista be compatible with PT? Do I really need to buy XP and partition my system drive in order to use PT?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:02 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,073
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

Theres a LOT of threads you can search thru on here, this has been discussed at least 7,000 times. But no, not stable on 64-bit yet. They're working on it, but for now a good XP 32-bit install is your best bet.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:04 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,526
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

Only 7000 times, I thought it was way more.

Edit; Oh your right, you said at least.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:14 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,073
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

Yeh, it was 17 BILLION times I was told not to exaggerate!!!

A couple of those threads. Or, the answer to "Why not?"
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=251376
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=249355
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:31 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,526
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

Whew. No wonder my fingers are sore.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2009, 11:42 AM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,073
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

But then again, I told the lady that cuts my hair that I was going to go to smart-aleck school, and she says "for what, to teach????!!!!" No respect.....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2009, 04:11 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,526
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

Hahahahaha
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2022 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2009, 04:22 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 6,073
Default Re: Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not?

I was talking to this woman on the phone the other night, she says "Come on over, nobody's home!"
I went over...nobody was home!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 05:44 AM
Vista Ultimate 64-bit Support for LE 8.0 belialtheunholy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-23-2009 10:57 AM
PTLE 7.4 cs3 Vista 64 Ultimate ufostraker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-17-2008 04:54 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4 SafariSoundFilms 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-27-2007 11:12 PM
Vista Business or Ultimate Only? LSW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-17-2007 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com