Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2007, 11:42 AM
SafariSoundFilms SafariSoundFilms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

I've searched the DUC and found bits and pieces of Vista stuff, but none that cut directly to the heart of my simple question:

Q: Will PT LE 7.4 run on Vista Ultimate 64-bit, or not?!

Yes, I know PT is still a 32-bit app, but so are Word, Excel, Photoshop, Bioshock and Half-Life 2, etc. and they run GREAT on Vista 64-bit under the x86 section. I see no reason why PT LE should be any different, UNLESS Digidesign put some smarts in the installer that recognizes a 64-bit version and stops the install before even getting started.

I like Vista 64-bit. There, I said it. It screams through applications on a 64-bit MB with the latest dual-core 64-bit AMD processer and dual Nvidia 8600 video cards in SLI mode, and it uses ALL 8Gb of installed RAM - that's a huge plus and it should make PT LE run better too! Just turn off all that silly Vista 'aero' display and sidebar BS since that does, in fact, reside in memory and it eats up way too much horsepower regardless of how much one started with. PT is an application begging for more RAM and the raw horsepower of processing twice as wide a data path with every clock cycle - why Digi took a baby step with 32-bit is beyond me, but there it is.

So, has anyone out there who ACTUALLY OWNS Vista Ultimate 64-bit tried to load and run PL LE 7.4? Did it load? Did it run? Any problems to note? (To be blunt, I'm not interested in supposition, so if you haven't actually tried it, please don't clog up the post!)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2007, 12:20 PM
BCBud BCBud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 164
Default Re: Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

Hey there,

I have Vista 64 bit Home Premium, and 7.4 works great. I was a little scared before I bought 7.4, but I installed it and so far there have been no problems.

I am running an Intel core 2 duo 2Ghz processor though, so I can't speak for AMD compatiblity with PT and Vista.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2007, 12:59 PM
toun toun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 36
Default Re: Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

I run vista business 64 and pt 7.4 works fine for now after all vista installs pt in the x 86 program files so pt runs as a 32 bit application
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2007, 01:25 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,503
Default Re: Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

So, when PT runs as a 32-bit app on a Vista 64 machine, can PT access more than 4GB memory? Also, I'm pretty sure Vista 64 is NOT Digi approved.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2020.5 / Win 11 / i9-11900K @ 5.1GHz / 64Gb DDR4-3600 / 4TB WD850X / Gigabyte Z590 Vision D / PreSonus 2626
Laptop: PT 2020.5 / Win 10 / older HP ProBook with i7 / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy (still works!): PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI 001
Click for audio/video demo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2007, 02:16 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

Quote:
So, when PT runs as a 32-bit app on a Vista 64 machine, can PT access more than 4GB memory? Also, I'm pretty sure Vista 64 is NOT Digi approved.
Definately not approved by Digi. I would think that since PT would be running as a 32bit Application that all of the limits of a 32 bit OS would apply. It would interesting to know if Rewire Clients could use the remaining memory. It's good to know the PT is running on 64Bit Vista. I'm actually suprised!
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:12 PM
SafariSoundFilms SafariSoundFilms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2
Default Re: Vista Ultimate 64 Bit vs. PT LE 7.4

Well, poo! Based on the success stories in the previous threads I took the plunge for fun. PT 7.4 seems to have installed just fine under Ultimate 64-bit in the x86 programs section, but running it is another matter. . .

Starting PT 7.4 on a test PC has typically resulted in a hang between 'DAE loaded' and the MIDI setup routine stuff. Clicking anywhere on the window crashes the program - 'not responding'.

However, it did get past that point two or three times out of a few dozen tries. Clicking on FILE - NEW resulted in the normal pop-up window, and everything seems fine up until I named the session and clicked OK, then the same 'not responding' crash.

Apparently it works in the Home Premium and Business x64 editions. Don't think it has anything to do with the media center stuff in Ultimate since Digi formally supports Ultimate 32-bit. Hard to tell what causes the crash at this point.

For those of you running PT on other versions of Vista 64, here's the test system basics - how does it compare with your gear?

Gigabyte MB with Nvidia 590 series chipset
AMD 6000+ Athlon64 X2 CPU
8 Gigs RAM in 4x2Gb configuration
BFG brand Nvidia GeForce 8600 256 Mb video card
Siig 1394 PCI card with TI chipset feeding 002R

Speedy little devil it 'tis - hope I can sort it out for PT - I like running against the grain and making it work when someone says 'Digi' or 'Avid' or whomever doesn't support it.

Bah, humbug!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista Ultimate, 64-bit, why not? Bizarro Bluze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 08-13-2009 04:22 PM
Vista Ultimate 64 (the ultimate dissapointment) Filmusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-03-2009 05:44 AM
Vista Ultimate 64-bit Support for LE 8.0 belialtheunholy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 04-23-2009 10:57 AM
PTLE 7.4 cs3 Vista 64 Ultimate ufostraker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 04-17-2008 04:54 PM
Vista Business or Ultimate Only? LSW 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 11-17-2007 07:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com