Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Old 09-26-2009, 04:23 PM

Default Eleven Rack---Live Use in Effects Loop?

noob here. I'm looking for either an effects processor without distortion/amp sim, or one with those like the Eleven Rack. I've been looking in the $500 to $1000 range like the G-Major 2 (effects only). Not really interested in spending $2000 for an Axe-FX.

So, in just finding out about the Eleven Rack, my question is, should I decide that I ONLY want the delay, chorus, compressor, etc. effects from the Eleven Rack, because I like my existing wah, distortion pedal, and Carvin tone, how would I connect this 'in the loop' of my head/cab? I watched the videos and read the manual, but they just say to turn off cab/amp simulation and plug into the front of the amp. I would like to keep these types of effects, ie chorus, delay, compressor, etc. in the loop of the amp.

So, can I turn off the cab/amp/distortion, run my amp's send to the line in (Left or Right?) on the back of the Eleven Rack and the 'Output to Amp' (Right?) of the Eleven into the return of the amp? (My guitar amp has a 3-way +4,0,-10 switch in the effects loop.)

The reason I'm looking at the Eleven Rack is because it's 10 years newer than the aurally-unexciting 16-bit Pod Pro that I quit using years ago because it was too dull and compressed sounding, and I'm hoping the technology has evolved a lot since then. I don't really need an amp sim, but would welcome the extra amp tones if they prove roadworthy.

Thanks for all your expertise.

-fran
Old 09-28-2009, 06:52 AM

Default Re: Eleven Rack---Live Use in Effects Loop?

I am also very interested in hearing about this.

Agreed -- neither the video or the manual address using the ER in a loop of an amp.