Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:36 AM
saw saw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 52
Default TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

I've been looking for a multiband compressor for mastering for a while. I saw that TC Electronic is coming soon with a TDM version of the MD3 multiband dynamics from their System 6000. There's also a Powercore version available for a while.

Has someone used the original MD3 from the System 6000 or the Powercore version? What are your experiences, weaknesses/strenghts? Do you thinks it's better/worse than Waves C4/LinMB or McDSP MC2000? Any other suggestions for multiband dynamics?
__________________
Punch In Audio Services
www.punchin.nl

Studio Engineering | Live Engineering | Location Recording | Composing
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:15 AM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 556
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

I've used it quite a lot on the System 6000. The EQ component is EXCELLENT within the 6000 in that you can boost and boost without digital nastiness. Hopefuly the TDM version will be the same. It's certainly not a character EQ - it's very clean and invisible. The dynamics too are as inconspicuous as can be.

The only reason I didn't use it more on the 6000 was the inability to automate it easily like a TDM plugin. If the TDM plugin is bit for bit like the 6000 with full automatbility, then they'll have themselves a winner there!

This isn't really the mastering tool to breath life into an anemic production, but to polish something made with the right colors already, it's great.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:43 AM
Alécio Costa's Avatar
Alécio Costa Alécio Costa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Florianópolis, Magic Island - Brazil
Posts: 2,835
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Seems to be a giant leap over MAster X (3+5). A pity
ster X 5 was not ported to HD/Accel.
But...MD4 is 4 band, right?
__________________
Alécio Costa Studio
High-End e-Mastering & Music Production
www.aleciocosta.com

http://www.facebook.com/alecio.costa

PT HD2 Accel - 10.3.10 OS 10.6.8 - Mac Pro 1,1 16GB RAM and Mac Pro 2,1 GB
Mastering Gear: Pendulum Audio, Crane Song, Avalon, Great River, Sebatron, Sonnox, Izotope, PSP, TC, Fab Filter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2006, 09:06 AM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Quote:
I've been looking for a multiband compressor for mastering for a while. I saw that TC Electronic is coming soon with a TDM version of the MD3 multiband dynamics from their System 6000. There's also a Powercore version available for a while.

Has someone used the original MD3 from the System 6000 or the Powercore version? What are your experiences, weaknesses/strenghts? Do you thinks it's better/worse than Waves C4/LinMB or McDSP MC2000? Any other suggestions for multiband dynamics?
It sounds and works exactly like the one in System 6000, - and the PoCo-version for that matter.
Yes, its bit for bit identical.
No, I dont think there are anything else that sounds as good as the MD3 when we talk multiband comps.

I´ve alwayes thought that the MD4 was a bit of overkill, - then again some might not agree.

Anyway IMO, the MD3 and Brickwall Limiter is a far cry from the X3-5´s of the world.
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:39 PM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Quote:
Quote:
I've been looking for a multiband compressor for mastering for a while. I saw that TC Electronic is coming soon with a TDM version of the MD3 multiband dynamics from their System 6000. There's also a Powercore version available for a while.

Has someone used the original MD3 from the System 6000 or the Powercore version? What are your experiences, weaknesses/strenghts? Do you thinks it's better/worse than Waves C4/LinMB or McDSP MC2000? Any other suggestions for multiband dynamics?
It sounds and works exactly like the one in System 6000, - and the PoCo-version for that matter.
Yes, its bit for bit identical.
No, I dont think there are anything else that sounds as good as the MD3 when we talk multiband comps.

I´ve alwayes thought that the MD4 was a bit of overkill, - then again some might not agree.

Anyway IMO, the MD3 and Brickwall Limiter is a far cry from the X3-5´s of the world.
I know Bob Katz for one prefers the sound of the MD4 over the MD3. I would also like to know if the multiband compressors crossover points have linear phase filters? Although I haven't heard the MD3 or MD4, when listening/using the MasterX multiband comp, you could hear the crossover points. I only used it for radio production & never for mastering purely for this reason.

Matt
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2006, 03:03 PM
P A M P A M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 391
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Quote:


I know Bob Katz for one prefers the sound of the MD4 over the MD3. I would also like to know if the multiband compressors crossover points have linear phase filters? Although I haven't heard the MD3 or MD4, when listening/using the MasterX multiband comp, you could hear the crossover points. I only used it for radio production & never for mastering purely for this reason.

Matt
Cant speak for Bob Katz obviosly ;-)

Forget everything you know about the MasterX or Finalizer. there really is no comparison, belive me you´ll want to use it for mastering when you get your hands on it.
- one thing youll notice is that the x-over is smooth, - actually its not the first thing notice because when MasterX, - like the Waves stuff is messing up you mix from the get-go, MD3 dont.

Btw,: This is not new-gear frency, - I´ve been using the MD3 for over a year now, first on the PoCo and now on HD.
__________________
PAM

Euro-Sound Studio
www.euro-sound.org
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2006, 05:44 PM
Matt_G Matt_G is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 590
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Quote:

Cant speak for Bob Katz obviosly ;-)

Forget everything you know about the MasterX or Finalizer. there really is no comparison, belive me you´ll want to use it for mastering when you get your hands on it.
- one thing youll notice is that the x-over is smooth, - actually its not the first thing notice because when MasterX, - like the Waves stuff is messing up you mix from the get-go, MD3 dont.

Btw,: This is not new-gear frency, - I´ve been using the MD3 for over a year now, first on the PoCo and now on HD.
Hi PAM,

Does that mean you have been a beta tester for the HD version? I tried to get some clarification from TC about the Brickwall Limiter algorithm. They state that it should be the same algorithm as used in the TC6000's Brickwall2 limiter. But then why isn't the HD or PoCo version labelled Brickwall2? It seems from discussions with Bob K that BW2 sounds markedly improved over the original BW. Some clarification would be great. Also TC said it would be released by Jan 2006 we are now Feb any ideas when it will be released?

Matt
__________________
Mastering Engineer

www.matthewgraymastering.com

Brisbane Australia
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2006, 08:02 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 556
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

Just to make note:
MD4 is only available on the 6000 still. Off the top of my head, the MD4 has phase linear cross overs and the MD3 doesn't (but I might be wrong on that).

Brickwall 2 is VASTLY better than Brickwall 1 which I only ever found useful for its intersample limiting. Brickwall 2 stands its own against any high end digital limiter.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-01-2006, 10:27 PM
theblasters theblasters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

If it's superior to the L3 I'll purchase I hope TC stops the delay
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-01-2006, 11:56 PM
Mikey MTC Mikey MTC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 556
Default Re: TC Electronic MD3 Multiband Dynamics

L3 is different again, being a multiband, phase compensated limiter. Does anyone make something that directly competes with this?

While L3 is great for what it does, I often find myself using L2 or Oxford Limiter (or TC Brickwall 2) for the confidence of knowing that they're single band devices. Horses for courses.

But now back to the MD3 thread - sorry to hijak.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiband Compressors Jmmergens RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 4 05-01-2013 04:19 PM
FS: TC Electronic VSS3 TDM reverb, MD3 multiband dynamics CHD Buy & Sell 6 06-18-2012 01:15 PM
no problem with dynamics in pt 8 problem with rane series dynamics at pt 8 vageli Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 01-25-2011 10:00 AM
Can Dynamics 2 and EQ 2 coexist with Dynamics 3 and EQ 3? noharmlessrock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-29-2008 11:23 AM
Expander Gate/Dynamics III vs Drawmer Dynamics DaveSB Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 14 01-31-2007 05:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com