Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2008, 07:19 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Hi,
So I did the $49 upgrade from MPTK 1 to MPTK 2 ... the iLok
license showed up in my iLok account .. I downloaded it and
surrended the MPTK 1 license ... and I can see on my iLok:

Music Production Toolkit 2 Digidesign License Never
Which is cool right?

I downloaded the installer .. ran it .. it say "Install Music Production Toolkit 2"

It does the install (Eleven ... etc etc.).

But, when I start Protools, I get a Authorization dialog for
Music Production Toolkit.

Something's wrong. I tried removing the bundle and then re-installing
it, but it's not working.

What to do?

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-17-2008, 07:25 PM
robo6675 robo6675 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 284
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Yea people have been posting the same thing all day...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...=233727&page=9
__________________
MacBook Pro (silver) 2.5 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4 GB RAM - 10.6.6 - PT9 - 003 BLA sig mod
Terrarium
HD3 Accel on a PowerPC - OS 10.5.7 - PTHD 8.0cs2
(3)192/SYNC IO/CS HEDD192/Studer A27/Neve 48 Ch. VR console
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-17-2008, 08:24 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Quote:
Originally Posted by robo6675 View Post
Yea people have been posting the same thing all day...

http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...=233727&page=9
Yes, I tried the Digi recommended solution (doing a safe
uninstall and a re-install of PTLE 8 and the MPTK2 install).
This doesn't work.

I'm virtually certain that the bundle that is installed with the MPTK2
DMG file is requiring the old MPTK license .. not the MPTK2 license.

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-17-2008, 08:49 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Ok .. I just tried a 7.2 safe uninstall . followed by a 8.0 safe
uninstall (per digi's recommendation). This obviously won't work
because it leaves the Music Production Toolkit . bundle file in the
Applications Protools folder.

Upon re-installing 8.0, you get the same authorization problem
(asking for the Music Production Toolkit license).

I then removed the .bundle file by hand, uninstalled 7.2, uninstalled
8.0 .. re-installed 8.0.

PTLE starts up just fine.

I re-ran the MPTK2 installer ... the .bundle file shows up ...
I restart PTLE .. and the problem comes back. It's trying
to get a MPTK 1 license.

This is wedged.

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:03 PM
Premo Premo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 585
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

I own MPTK 1 and 2 licenses
Yes Jeff is correct, oddly enough this worked for me if I used a MPTK 1 license. I can make 64 tracks and get no authorization screen on PT 8 launch for MPTK2 8.0 bundle.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:18 PM
twix twix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 272
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Same problem here. =/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:49 PM
scottmckay scottmckay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

Same thing happens when I start PT. I surrendered my old license in exchange for MPT2 license, but it appears that Pro Tools is still looking for the old license instead of the new one as there is no "2" in the dialog box.

http://i40.tinypic.com/9zmszm.png
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2008, 09:51 PM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

I would advise anyone upgrading to Music Production Toolkit 2 not
to surrender their MPTK 1 license (ilok.com) until Digi addresses this
issue.

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2008, 10:28 PM
marcioguitar marcioguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York City - USA
Posts: 224
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

I am in the same situation, I cannot even open more than 32 tracks anymore, I still on PT 7.4.2, its asking me for the original MPTK authorizations, its not in my Ilok anymore since it was replaced with the new MPTK 2.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2008, 12:35 AM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Monterey Bay Area
Posts: 819
Default Re: Problem with Music Production Toolkit 2 Licensing

yea .. that's the bummer with these license surrenders .. there's
no going back. I can understand with Waves 6.0 (where they
completely replace their licensing scheme) .. but for MPTK 1 to
MPTK - 2? There's hardly any difference other than the
increased track count.

I don't like surrendering licenses for this sort of thing .. too
painful.

I sure wish there was 48 hour grace period for license surrender ... because
i have to accept on pure faith that things are working as advertised.

If I could say "nope ... license upgrade X doesn't work for me" ... then that
would be most appreciated.


jeff
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
music production 2 toolkit authorization problem jeffpardo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-25-2009 09:26 AM
DV Toolkit/Music Production Toolkit upgrade price question EricWillhelm 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 12-17-2008 04:23 PM
music production toolkit activation problem danemac1981 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 05-06-2008 01:36 PM
Music Production Toolkit problem juicejuiceisgood 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-07-2007 01:31 PM
Music Production Toolkit Problem!!! Please Help linchpinc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 05-18-2007 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com