Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:23 AM
Media Man Media Man is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 564
Default Other DAW software and M Box

I'm considering purchasing LE to use on a laptop.

If LE is successfully working with a MBox, is it possible to access the hardware audio channels from a different DAW software on the same machine. I have a need to occasionally use other software for existing projects. For example, can I use the hardware with Adobe Audtion, or Nuendo for example. Are drivers available?

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:59 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

Quote:
can I use the hardware with Adobe Audtion, or Nuendo for example.
Yes, but only one at a time.
Quote:
Are drivers available?
Yes, and installed by default with the Pro Tools software.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:01 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

Quote:
I'm considering purchasing LE to use on a laptop.

You should also definitely check out the compatibility information for the mbox; there are some (most) current laptops that are incompatible.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2007, 06:48 PM
wayout wayout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

More specifically they are the "ASIO" drivers, and you have to have the checkbox checked during pro tools install to have them included. You also must tell the other DAW software that you want to use the mbox.

I sometimes use the mbox with Cubase this way, but its performance is somewhat sluggish at times, when no other ASIO devices are.

-Jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:51 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

In truth, you must go out of your way to un-check them to keep them from installing. Both the Wave and ASIO drivers will install by default.

Personally, I've never found the ASIO drivers to be sluggish with CB. On my system it's quite a bit snappier than Pro Tools.
Of course, your mileage/setup may vary.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:13 PM
wayout wayout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 3
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

My mileage does vary!

Using Cubase SX3 on either my two DAW's with the Mbox is a bit sluggish compared to using my Firepod, or my Waveterminal U24.

Due to my experience(s), I suggest that the ASIO drivers for the Mbox might not be as "tight" as the ones written for the other devices I have experience with, and for use with other software like Cubase, I believe that other devices might function more efficiently.



-Jason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-09-2007, 12:38 AM
rickthestick rickthestick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Prescott, AZ
Posts: 141
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

It shows up in my systems for playback only, it never been available as a recording device on any of my systems. Is this common?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:54 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Other DAW software and M Box

Quote:
It shows up in my systems for playback only, it never been available as a recording device on any of my systems. Is this common?
When using the wavedriver for I/O, yes. the Wavedriver is an output only driver. The ASIO driver, on the other hand, is what you would use with programs like Cubase, Nuendo, and the latest version of Adobe Audition which is ASIO capable.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 12-28-2006 10:12 AM
Best Master Software and Best CD Burning Software. whitecreek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 12-24-2006 08:46 PM
OT: That VR mix software? clutch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-30-2005 06:11 PM
Implement software update option into ProTools software Samhein Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-09-2003 12:47 AM
Looking for a software - please help Voutsonios 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 11-06-2001 03:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com