Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2004, 11:54 AM
toddburke toddburke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hollywood, Ca, USA
Posts: 32
Default Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

OK kids, here is a new one:
----------------
G4 800, 1GB Ram
HD 2
2 x 192 io
Sync io
Nanosyncs

OS 10.2.1
ProTools 6.1
---------------

This is happening consistently. I am getting this very strange squeaking sound from my fade files. It sounds like an old bicycle wheel or rusty hinge. This sounds a bit crazy - but when i render fades, i am hearing this annoying, squeaky noise when i play the fade back. the squeaks happen at the same place within the fade each time i play back and this is happening every time i make a fade. is this a dither problem?

I am in the middle of a record, and really don't want to take an afternoon to reinstall. i have taken the sync io and nanosyncs out of the "loop" and it makes no difference. doesn't seem to be a clocking issue. HELP!? if this is a new feature, i don't like it. Has anyone seen this?
__________________
http://www.toddburke.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-20-2004, 11:59 AM
davip davip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 528
Default Re: Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

Is it loud, quiet, or barely audible?
__________________
Dual 2.3 GHz PowerPC G5
2.5GB RAM
OS 10.4.6
HD 2 Accel
PT 7.1cs9
192 I/O
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-20-2004, 01:17 PM
toddburke toddburke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hollywood, Ca, USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

hmmm

well, i found the problem (sort of) the noise is only reaching the stereo buss thru one of my hardware inserts, a demeter spring reverb. it only happens after i have renderered a few fades and only squeaks when my session is playing thru a fade. i am stumped. muting the spring's aux track makes the noise stop. very odd. i will post an audio file of the noise at:

http://www.toddburke.com/duck

btw - these sessions are running at 88.2/24 and again, this happens regardless of clock source.
__________________
http://www.toddburke.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-20-2004, 02:21 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,301
Default Re: Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

I'm not familiar with the hardware piece you mentioned, but if it's a digital box, try turning dithering off in the fades window.
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-20-2004, 02:45 PM
toddburke toddburke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Hollywood, Ca, USA
Posts: 32
Default Re: Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

it is an analog spring reverb by demeter. the squeak in question also comes thru between the time that i hit spacebar and the time playback begins, and then continuously while in play. the squeak also happens regardless of what i have assigned to the aux return that contains the hardware insert. it squeaks with every track in the session muted except the aux return. crazy.

the hardware insert is on inputs and outputs 1-2 of my first interface.

i guess this thread is over. maybe someone will come across it while pulling their hair out the way that i have for a few minutes now.

happy protooling, guys.
__________________
http://www.toddburke.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-20-2004, 09:34 PM
BlueDog BlueDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland OR USA
Posts: 73
Default Re: Squeaky Noises Rendered in Fade Files

Maybe the springs need oil . Could it be some stray voltage or DC offset that is sending just enough current to set the springs in motion? Or maybe a physical vibration (from hitting the space bar). Seems like it must be something in the Demeter. Let us know when you figure it out. It's just wierd enough to be interesting.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing Rendered Elastic Files Electric Peak Pro Tools 10 10 10-18-2019 10:37 AM
Rendered Elastic Audio files disappearing! huzzam 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 15 02-27-2018 09:50 AM
Rendered Files : WHERE do they disappear to? midnightrambler Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 12-18-2012 07:42 AM
Can't find rendered files RobPG 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-02-2009 11:58 PM
delete rendered files elastic audio BUG!!! carlos santana Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 39 12-26-2008 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com