Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 10:29 AM
play4theworld play4theworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 175
Default Sustain problems while recording MIDI

I was trying to record some piano stuff and I'm having problems with the sustain settings.


I don't have a pedal so i draw it into the control lane. I have to play the track as if I was listening to a recording (yet there is nothing there, it's just running through) in order to hear the sustain when I'm messing around trying to get things straight.

The real problem is that when I go to record, it draws that line back flat to 0.


Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2010, 12:57 AM
pianosound pianosound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Turlock, Central CA
Posts: 911
Default Re: Sustain problems while recording MIDI

Sounds like you need a pedal!! They are really cheap....... The only other way is to record, then add the pedal editing. Can you put the pedal editing on an aux track, and send the piano through that aux track to do final editing later?? I've never tried it, but use aux tracks for a lot of other things, it might have ped control? Check it out!
Mike
__________________
Intel Core i7 4790K 4.0GHz | Asus Z97-Pro LGA 1150 Intel 6Gb | Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB DDR3 2400 | Asus GT640 Silent 2 GB GDDR3 | Samsung 850 Pro SSD's, WD Caviar Black HDD's | PSU Corsair 750W ATX12V | Windows 10 | Presonus Studio One | 003R PT's 12.8 | Waves Platinum | Ivory/Piano | Berlin Woodwinds, Nocturne Solo Violin | SPITFIRE Solo Strings | EastWest Hollywood Strings, Brass, Pro Drummer, and Stormdrum 2 | VSL | Vienna Ensemble Pro | M-Audio Code 61, FaderPort 8 |
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2010, 07:09 AM
play4theworld play4theworld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 175
Default Re: Sustain problems while recording MIDI

Actually, it seems to work when i play like normal with the track armed then hit the record transport. I guess that will cause problems later on, I'll mess around with it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with MIDI Sustain Pedal while recording ChrisSimon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 72 06-25-2014 10:30 AM
PT8, Sustain pedal, velocity problems while recording ChrisSimon MIDI 1 08-20-2009 05:23 PM
Problem with recording MIDI piano sustain pedal Chris7514 MIDI 5 06-11-2008 12:56 AM
sustain cuts out while recording midi tromostheory 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 07-08-2007 05:29 PM
Sustain Pedal in Midi recording in PT LE Arya44 Tips & Tricks 1 11-09-2003 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com