Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-10-2021, 08:13 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 935
Default D-Control Main unit no lights

Hey all.
Earlier this year I had to replace the LED PSU on the fader unit.
And few months later fader unit leds and the main unit leds started flashing. And then Main unit leds died completely, including talkback, oleds, everything.
However, the unit kept working as normal, buttons worked.
Today I replaced the LED PSU on the main unit but the lights didn't come back...
(Fader unit LEDS came back after the replacement)

At the moment I am anxiously waiting for the courier to bring me the Logic board PSU to see if that helps.

My hours are counting fast towards an inoperable suite, so any insight is much appreciated right now..

cheers
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-10-2021, 10:11 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 935
Default Re: D-Control Main unit no lights

OK, so here's an update.
The new LED PSU works only if the heatsink is not connected to the chassis. Which I find weird as it's an identical replacement.
But I am nervous about not connecting the heatsink to the chassis as the regulator might overheat.

Any technical minded peeps here that could shed some light?
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2021, 05:30 AM
LDS LDS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 955
Default Re: D-Control Main unit no lights

I can't speak for the D-Control specifically, but if you ground a regulator's heat fin it will often cause it to stop working. It usually needs to be electrically isolated from ground. It is an easy thing to do with small PCB mounted ones that have a heatsink that just floats in air, but for bigger chassis mounted heatsinks, you usually need an insulated heat pad between the regulator and heatsink, as well as some consideration about how the nuts and bolts keep them both together. Often there is a small plastic washer on the regulator side to prevent metal on metal contact. I always seem to mess it up though, as the bolt shaft can still make contact. I usually use plastic nuts and bolts which work quite well.

It might be a case that you need an insulated heat pad between the heatsink of the PSU and the chassis. They also often get called thermal gaskets, and are a sticker on one side. Peel it off, stick it on, and press it all together.
__________________
littledevilstudios.com.au
Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.12. OSX 10.14.6. HDX1. DAD DX-32R. DADman 5.4.5.1. Mac Pro 2013. 10 Core 3.0gHz. 64Gb. Blackmagic Extreme HD. Sync HD. Dobly Production Suite 3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2021, 03:39 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 935
Default Re: D-Control Main unit no lights

So, I figured out the issue. On the old model PSU they used isolators to connect the regulators to the heatsink bracket on the PCB. The new ones don't have isolators. Quite the design flaw if you ask me. I used silicon isolators and plastic sleeves for the screws to mount it on the chassis without connection.
All is good!
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2021, 06:42 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: D-Control Main unit no lights

Great info! Thanks

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Control - Main Unit Dopamine Buy & Sell 0 06-08-2021 12:04 PM
FS: Pro Control Main Unit Echo studios Buy & Sell 3 10-01-2018 04:48 PM
FS: D-Control Main unit PTPerson Buy & Sell 1 02-08-2017 09:59 PM
FS (EU) Pro Control Main Unit Vytis Buy & Sell 1 01-07-2016 06:36 AM
Pro Control Main Unit is intermittent tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 07-31-2014 01:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com