Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2181  
Old 06-04-2018, 06:30 PM
Samanthas Dream Samanthas Dream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: At Home
Posts: 89
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tweakhead View Post
This thread has now exceeded over 1,000,000 views.
(see "Views" column - http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)

P.S. I can only find one thread on the entire DUC with more views than this.
Does anyone at Avid understand the significance of this fact ? . . . anyone ?
They could care less!
__________________
15 years as PTHD User, Protools 2018 Ultimate, 24 Channel iCon D-Command, Avid Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, (2) BLA Modified 192 I/O’s, DigiPre, Way Too Many Outboard Compressors/EQ’s/ETC, where did all my money go????
Reply With Quote
  #2182  
Old 06-05-2018, 11:13 AM
Balanced Jack Balanced Jack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 64
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samanthas Dream View Post
They could care less!


Help us Neyrinck-Wan Kenobi, you’re our only hope.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #2183  
Old 06-21-2018, 02:13 PM
GearGuy GearGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

https://neyrinck.com/v-control-pro/

Who has bought this and used it yet? Currently $199 to own it for $49 a year rental....
__________________
Best Wishes,

GearGuy
Reply With Quote
  #2184  
Old 06-21-2018, 03:51 PM
Jeezer Jeezer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: GB
Posts: 69
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samanthas Dream View Post
They could care less!
They *couldn't care less.

just saying.

I though avid stomped down hard on this type of thing? now an industry pops up for it! Wish I'd dug in and reverse engineered it myself and made a few squids.
__________________
Windows 10 | PT12.8 HD @ 88.2k | ICON D-Command 24 Faders | Prism Titan Converters
Reply With Quote
  #2185  
Old 06-24-2018, 04:16 PM
Rule62 Rule62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 55
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

While using latest pro tools versions, Ultimate/2018 HD whatever they call it now, My Control 24 is back at the center of my studio!!!! Thanks to Neyrinck and Vcontrol Pro. (I have no affiliation with Neyrinck, I just bought their product. )

I am so happy to be able to use this control surface with the latest versions again.

I also like the fact that I get to snub my nose at Avid.

This experience taught me - I don't buy anything from Avid unless I absolutely have to. I know what Avid is at its core - A snake that can hold me hostage anytime I get too close or God forbid, become dependent on their products. Never again.
__________________
Rule 62 Music Company
Dallas, TX
http://www.rule62music.com
Reply With Quote
  #2186  
Old 06-24-2018, 07:29 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,739
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule62 View Post
I also like the fact that I get to snub my nose at Avid.

Don’t think that Neyrick did this without Avids blessings.

They definitely signed off of this....humility and gratefulness is a much better attitude to have
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #2187  
Old 06-25-2018, 04:53 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,582
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rule62 View Post
While using latest pro tools versions, Ultimate/2018 HD whatever they call it now, My Control 24 is back at the center of my studio!!!! Thanks to Neyrinck and Vcontrol Pro. (I have no affiliation with Neyrinck, I just bought their product. )

I am so happy to be able to use this control surface with the latest versions again.
Cool!! So how does it work actually? Is full functionality restored? The site is a bit vague about it.

Can you post some vids?
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #2188  
Old 06-26-2018, 07:56 AM
bcwiz's Avatar
bcwiz bcwiz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: vancouver
Posts: 525
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

That's a very quiet roll out...
__________________
Brian Campbell
"Air mixes better than any console" Bill Porter
"Humility is mighty important in this business of listening" Bob Olhsson
Reply With Quote
  #2189  
Old 06-27-2018, 09:16 AM
GearGuy GearGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

I'm curious to know how well it works for ProControl. Especially with multiple units. I have a main unit ProControl, Edit Pack, and Fader Pack.
__________________
Best Wishes,

GearGuy
Reply With Quote
  #2190  
Old 06-29-2018, 01:53 PM
Delta Music Belgium's Avatar
Delta Music Belgium Delta Music Belgium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Sint-Truiden, Belgium, Europe
Posts: 577
Default Re: Control|24 and ProControl with Pro Tools 11?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GearGuy View Post
I'm curious to know how well it works for ProControl. Especially with multiple units. I have a main unit ProControl, Edit Pack, and Fader Pack.
I’m one of the beta-testers of the new V-Control Pro with support for Digidesign Legacy Controllers since the beginning of the project and in close cooperation with Paul Neyrinck. I was (and I still am) testing the software with my 48 fader ProControl on my Mac Pro 2012 with Sierra 10.12.6 and Pro Tools 2018.4. I needed to be confidential about this project for almost three months now. But since the software is commercially available I’m allowed to share my experiences.

For the record: I know nothing about how the new V-Control Pro works with a Control 24, I can only answer questions about the functionality with one or more ProControl units.

To answer your question: it works very well inside the technical limitations inherent to the use of the old HUI protocol that exists since Pro Tools 5.3 (2003).

In general V-Control Pro provides virtual MIDI ports that are set up in Pro Tools as MIDI peripherals using the HUI protocol. V-Control Pro connects to ProControl / Control 24 by Ethernet and translates them to the HUI protocol. Some buttons on ProControl / Control 24 do not function because HUI does not provide every feature on those surfaces. But HUI is a basically a good protocol and lets you do almost everything you really need for professional mix control.

It works with a ProControl Main Unit and/or Fader Packs. This means you do not necessarily need a Main Unit, it also works with one ore more Fader Packs without a Main Unit. I suppose it also works with multiple Main Units, I don’t see why not, however I was not able to test this.

The Edit Pack is not supported but maybe it will be partially supported in a future version. But the motorised joysticks on an Edit Pack will never be supported because Pro Tools does not provide surround pan position feedback in the HUI protocol.

V-Control Pro works fine with 8, 16, 24 or maximum 32 faders (this is a HUI limitation). On my 48 fader ProControl I can freely choose 1, 2, 3 or 4 of the 6 units in V-Control Pro, even when Pro Tools is open and running.

Bank and nudge buttons let you access all tracks that are in a Pro Tools session.

What does work with ProControl:

- faders with .1 dB resolution
- Pan, Mute, Solo, Record
- track select
- sends A-E
- sends flip to fader
- all transport functions
- plug-in editing will be available in a future version

But there are some limitations due to the limitations of the HUI protocol:

- no more then 32 faders
- track names are limited to 4 characters
- no sends are accessible beyond A-E
- no ProControl Main Unit Channel Matrix
- no Solo Clear button

I’m working with ProControl since 1999 and I find these limitation very annoying. I hate scribble strips with just 4 characters and I was using the ProControl Main Unit Channel Matrix + the Solo Clear buttons on all my units a lot (muscle memory that has gone to waste now).

But on the other hand, before this new version of V-Control Pro my ProControl was virtually dead with Pro Tools 11 and 12, now it has revived and has become a fancy HUI controller with the legendary marvellous faders of the ProControl and V-Control Pro makes it possible to use a lot of its original functionality.

I do not know if there is some kind of agreement between Paul Neyrinck and AVID about V-Control Pro and supporting the Digidesign Legacy Controllers. But AVID can’t deliberately make V-Control Pro not work anymore in future Pro Tools updates exactly because V-Control Pro uses the HUI protocol to control Pro Tools. Dozens of control surfaces use the HUI protocol, if Avid stopped supporting HUI, it would make V-Control Pro and many other control surfaces incompatible.
__________________
Marc Schellekens
Delta Music Belgium - Pro Tools | HDX Studio
http://www.deltamusic.be

Pro Tools | HDX system:
Mac Pro (Mid 2012) 3.33 GHz 6-core - 32 GB RAM - OS X 10.14.6 - Magma EB7 - PT HDX3 - PT Ultimate - HD I/O 16x16 - HD I/O 16x16 Digital - 192 I/O - 192D I/O (x3) - SYNC HD I/O - Apogee Big Ben - Rosetta 200 - Avid S3 + Slate RAVEN MTi2 (x2) in a RAVEN CORE Station + 2 RAVEN CORE Station Sidecars - Almost all available AAX-DSP plug-ins
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vote for Control 24/ProControl drivers for Pro Tools 11 tekis ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 14 05-10-2015 05:14 AM
ProControl Vs Mc Control? surroundnoob ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 08-13-2011 04:05 PM
Should I get a Control 24 or ProControl??? A Spooner ICON & C|24 3 03-23-2005 10:59 PM
Should I get a ProControl or Control 24??? A Spooner ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 6 03-17-2005 10:48 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com