Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-15-2000, 09:01 AM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Is this an intermittant problem with SCSI termination? Or PCI blues? Sure is putting a strain on 'ol blue' (Yosemite 8.6)
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-15-2000, 06:32 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,877
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI



Could be several things, I would probably remove all cards from the G3, power it up and zap the PRam (option, command, R and P).

If the G3 is still having problems, talk to Apple.

If the G3 appears to booting up OK and behaving appropriately, I would put the SCSI card in and maybe re-zap the firmware on the card.

In other words, put the system back together one piece at a time until you find the culprit.

Jon Connolly
Digidesign Product Specialist
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2000, 06:05 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Thanks Jon.

All this started after updating the firmware on the Miles SCSI card. I swear. Never saw open firmware before.

But Initio just doesn't listen. I am glad the folks at DIGI do!

For the longest time not one problem with all the PCI slots maxed. Took out my Adaptec 2930u card to get another G-3 hooked up to the burner and pow!

Sometimes I just turn on my Plexiwriter and that does it. Other times not. P Ram zappage like the "Chimes of St Mary's".

And today. Restarted, and this time my second ATA drive didn't mount. First time that's happened. The next restart. Mac OS ROM checksum error again.

Turned back on the Plexiwriter and it still didn't start.

P RAM zappage did the trick this time however.

The 001 card is in slot #1. Can I shuffle that around?


__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2000, 09:20 PM
johnwhynot johnwhynot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Culver City, CA, USA
Posts: 153
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

I had a similar symptom, caused as it happens by a toasted 2940UW card.

Oh, and talking of customer service, Adaptec essentially told me I was hosed. When I went to nag them about it (I have purchase dox and everything) they stopped responding.

The card is sitting in my tech shop as we speak...

Anyhow, a cable failure shorted something out on the 68-pin connector on that card, and the mac just wouldn't boot with the card in place. Card goes out, Mac OK.

I would try Jon's suggestions...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2000, 02:06 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Today my SCSI volumes didn't mount. Even after updating the card's firmware.

Solution: Take large cement brick. Drop on card. Pack both up for the UPS driver & be sure to include RA#. Ha!

$15 bucks for shipping. But well worth it.
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2000, 08:34 AM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Problem solved. Or should I say crushed?

...man is it quiet now. These new ATA drives wisper.
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2000, 01:28 PM
MacDaddy WGAR MacDaddy WGAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 302
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Shaggy, you didn't really go into more details about exactly what you have in your system, card order etc. No one can help you if you don't give more info. I'm using the Miles U2W card at home with a PowerMix setup-PT 4.1.1/Os 8.6/XLR8 Carrier G3/7300 and it doesn't even blink. I've done a ton of editing on it. Now my set up is a little different, I have the external Yamaha and a SyJet going to a 50hd adapter in one of the pci slots which is routed to the internal fast scsi. A scanner only on the external slow scsi.

Which Miles card? If you are running the U2W card, Initio says connecting slower peripherals to the external may give you problems. And even though I don't follow it as often as I should , and extensions off boot to update files and firmware still can prevent problems. I got burned on a G4 last month at work so it is back to the old rule again. Why not go back to the old firmware? Was it giving you that much of a problem?
And did you really smash the scsi card?

Bill
__________________
Bill Conners
Creative Director
99-5 WGAR/Majic 105.7
Cleveland, OH
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-19-2000, 02:08 PM
shaggy shaggy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: United States of Amnesia
Posts: 1,983
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

I know a guitar builder who did just that, only with a Texas Instruments calculator.

The beast causing problems is a Miles UW card. Purchased just when the Yosemites first came out. i.e. required an eprom change to boot the new ATA machines. Since I had no intention of running my system off the SCSI drive, didn't send it back to Initio. Now they won't even issue an RA#.

It was causing all sorts of problems. And Initio insists I am running old Apple firmware. Just to prove I am not, FinalCutPro is running fine folks, try installing that on firmware 1.0 !!! Anyway rev 2 Yosemites were shipped with 1.1 and that's a fact.

The card seemed to work ok prior to the first firmware update. Then 8.6 came out and SmartScsi died. From then on it has been a downhill road. It would not even let a rev 1 Yosemite boot if installed at the moment. When it worked fine with that very machine before. So. User error? I think not.

Nothing on the chain most of the time. The plexiwriter will not burn when connected to the miles card. Period. The adaptec 2930u works just fine (I needed that temporarily on another machine)

As soon as the adaptec was removed, things took a more serious turn.

...and it since Initio doesn't feel the need to cater to the needs of DAW workstation users- I wouldn't excercise my stock options just yet.
__________________
"The original nipper" Throw me a bone (Telefunken DI is ok too)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-19-2000, 06:10 PM
johnwhynot johnwhynot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Culver City, CA, USA
Posts: 153
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Well, CS doesn't get any better with Adaptec, believe me.

I had a DOA Miles UW card, that was bought through MacGurus. They had gone home at the weekend, and Initio sent out the replacement anyway, with a return Fedex label.

I've had 3 adaptec UW cards, two of which fried completely, and Adaptec wouldn't take a phone call or answer an email.

Your Mileage May Vary...

------------------
Score Mixer/Record Producer
www.parkedalien.com
CDs, Discussions, Creative Audio

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-20-2000, 11:58 AM
MacDaddy WGAR MacDaddy WGAR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 302
Default Re: Boot failure- Mac OS ROM checksum failure...SCSI

Shaggy,
If you held on to it past a reasonable amount of time no company will give you an rma. Why not just sell it? Sorry it didn't work out for you man I love my card.

BC
__________________
Bill Conners
Creative Director
99-5 WGAR/Majic 105.7
Cleveland, OH
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching System Drives -- Disk Boot Failure? JamLewis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-09-2010 03:58 PM
could addtlmix farm card cause boot drive failure? c-post Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-18-2006 12:10 AM
C24 Failure pmklein ICON & C|24 1 03-15-2004 09:57 AM
BOOT FAILURE L.A.P. RECORDS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 10-18-2003 10:59 PM
Mac OS Rom Boot Failure! Anyone experience this one? shaggy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-11-2000 12:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com