Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:05 PM
gollywillickers gollywillickers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 47
Default Seperating midi drums [notes] to seperate tracks?

how do you seperate midi drums to seperate tracks?

i have th whole performance on oone midi track and am seperating it out
to have kick, snare, hh, on their own tracks.

copy paste doesn't seem to place the notes in the right place.

copying the whole file and deleting the unwanted notes works
but i was wondering if there is another way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2006, 06:30 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: Seperating midi drums [notes] to seperate tracks?

Copying the individual drum notes and then using cut/paste should work as long as the playback head is at the position of the first note. Basically it will paste starting at wherever the playback head currently is located.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:19 PM
Musick Musick is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 209
Default Re: Seperating midi drums [notes] to seperate trac

I believe this is a new feature in Pro Tools 7.
But anyways, you can do this by selecting your midi data and option-3
Here you can select quantize, groove quantize, quantize input, whatever, and you
wanna select the Split Note option...and you wanna split notes into different tracks per pitch...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2006, 07:20 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Seperating midi drums [notes] to seperate tracks?

gollywillickers

You could also use Single Note mode.

In theory if you know the amount of pieces your using for your overall drum sound (i.e. double kick, two or three snares, toms, cymbols ...etc) and you can identify which octave and note these pieces correspond to, duplicate as many tracks as required to isolate each drum piece, click Track Height>Single Note mode, select octave and note corresponding to the drum piece you want that track to represent.

For example, if the double kick is sitting at octave 1 note C1 in the MIDI track, selecting octave 1 note C1 in the same MIDI track in Single Note mode, should result in only the double kick showing on that track. The snare 1 might be sitting at octave 1 note C# in the next MIDI track, so selecting octave 1 note C# in the Track Height>Single Note mode in the same MIDI track, should result in only the Snare 1 showing on that track, repeating this for the next track and so on and so on.

Now this is only in theory for I have not tried this one out myself, but this is how I setup my MIDI drum tracks and routing.




filosofem

__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Seperating audio and MIDI instrument tracks so they don't activate at the same time sonofanders MIDI 11 04-02-2009 03:54 PM
seperating midi notes on different tracks? brokemusician3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-08-2008 12:00 PM
seperating midi notes into individual tracks. tempest1226 MIDI 6 01-27-2008 07:58 AM
Advice on seperating live recording into seperate scottyplayero 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 10-06-2006 11:51 AM
Question about seperate tracks on Drums from hell tempest1226 Virtual Instruments 10 09-26-2006 04:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com