Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-29-2000, 07:00 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

For anyone who missed the first announcement, The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op is open at:
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com

Still hoping to get more file uploads , though I'm glad to see quite a few people have registered...

By the way, I discovered a few days ago that a change I made to the file download inadvertantly caused a problem with using the browsers 'Save As' option (that is, click-hold Save As, rather than just clicking the file link), causing it to return an html page rather than the file (doh!). If you tried downloading one of the .bin or .hqx files and couln't get it to decode, this is probably why. I have corrected this.

Tom

P.S.: Digi...I was unable to post this to my original thread in this forum...it said that the forum name didn't match.
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-30-2000, 12:51 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

ok...seems all I gotta do is post something like this, and something has to go wrong...

It seems that the web host my site is on is undergoing a serious malicious ping attack. They are in the process of trying to track it down. For the time being it's down...errrrr
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2000, 06:16 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

Back up...and they gave me a free month for the trouble
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2000, 11:24 AM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,600
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

That's good news.
I tried last night to get the previous thread to work properly so it would allow replies, but couldn't get it fixed. Rather than mess it up more by messing with the individual cgi script, I went ahead and locked it from replies.
Here's the link for those that want to see the previous posts:
http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/001467.html

I also added a link to your site in the Download/Utilities, Third-Party Files & Links section.

Thanks for your effort on this, Tom. We've been involved with working on improving our own capabilities, including new servers and co-location, load balancing, faster international access, etc. which should be noticeable to users by the end of this year. We would like to be able to provide an area for user file sharing, but as you well know it can be a bit tricky.
Thanks again for seeing a need and providing your site.

A big hand for Tom Dexter!


------------------
Bruce Paine
eMarketing
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2000, 04:09 PM
sphonemus sphonemus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

hip hip horray!
__________________
=j=
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-01-2000, 07:13 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

Thanks Bruce! A shiny new 888/24 and a Mix Farm would be more than thanks enough

Seriously though...thanks so much for putting up that link to my site....too cool. The file uploads are starting to trickle in, and I have registered users representing eight countries. All in all, I'm really glad I made the time to put it up. Thanks again!

Tom
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2000, 07:22 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

help....

If any of you have presets you've been meaning to upload, I'd appreciate any file uploads. I have quit a few registered members (representing 10 countries!), but I'm afraid interest may fade, and people may quit checking back if nothing gets uploaded soon. I'd hate to see that happen.

I understand that many Mac users may have downloaded plenty of BinHex and MacBinary files but have never needed to create any themselves. For this reason I've expanded the FAQ to thoroughly explain how to use the free utilities I have available for download. Thanks!

Tom

[This message has been edited by tld (edited October 06, 2000).]
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-17-2000, 07:43 AM
tld tld is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op

Just a note:

If anyone attempted to upload files to the Co-op, and received a message indicating that there where invalid characters in the file name (when there weren't any), it was probably caused odd behavior in Netscape for Mac that I have now addressed in my cgi.

It seems that some versions of Netscape for Mac, when using a file upload field, encode the name of the file into url format (converting spaces to %20 for example). This is not correct behavior, and other browsers (including Netscape for Windows oddly enough), do not do this.

This was preventing some users from uploading any files with spaces in the file name, telling them that the file name could not contain '%'. This will no longer occur.

Thanks!

Tom Dexter

http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
__________________
http://www.digitalaudiorock.com
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changes to the Protools Plugin Preset Co-op tld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 07-06-2004 06:28 AM
Changes to the Protools Plugin Preset Co-op tld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-06-2004 06:22 AM
Changes to the Protools Plugin Preset Co-op tld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 07-06-2004 06:21 AM
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op - new server tld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-10-2004 08:28 AM
The Protools Plugin Preset Co-op tld 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-27-2000 08:40 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com