Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:24 PM
foxlemieux foxlemieux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: savannah
Posts: 37
Default Using Alesis Multimix FW 16 with PT M-Box

I'm thinking about buying an Alesis Multimix FW16 as a cheap way of getting 8 XLR inputs that I can digiatlly record straight to my computer. It is a lot cheapr than any comprable digital board with 4 not to mention 8 XLR inputs. I am unable to find much in the way of info or reviews about this mixer online, so I was wondering if anyone here had used it. In a perfect world I would be able to record straight into pro-tools from the firewire out on the mixer. I'm assuming that this won't work. If i'm wrong please let me know. Would it then be an issue of using Cubase to track with and then just exporting the tracks into PT to mix? Thanks in advance
Jason Vernon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2005, 01:36 PM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Using Alesis Multimix FW 16 with PT M-Box

Quote:
I'm assuming that this won't work.
You are correct! And your assumption about using cubase (or some other program that would take advantage of that interface) to track would be correct also.

Not sure about the preamps in those units, though...
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alesis MultiMix 4 USB interface not available as an Input Designer66 Getting Started 9 05-29-2013 02:27 PM
PT 10 with Alesis Multimix 8 USB on Windows? jimlad Windows 0 02-19-2012 04:33 PM
Alesis Multimix 4 USB Toolbar Pro Tools 10 0 12-01-2011 06:49 AM
Alesis Multimix 16 dolgand Pro Tools 9 0 11-17-2010 03:28 AM
Alesis Multimix 12 USB StinkyPete 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-07-2010 06:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com