Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-28-2010, 06:49 PM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

I just check the reference guide. By shift clicking tracks to be pencil enabled in the midi track list of the MIDI editor, although you can do that, it says notes will be inserted on that space of all pencil enabled tracks. This is unwanted. Please help.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-28-2010, 07:55 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiltrator View Post
I just check the reference guide. By shift clicking tracks to be pencil enabled in the midi track list of the MIDI editor, although you can do that, it says notes will be inserted on that space of all pencil enabled tracks. This is unwanted. Please help.
It is very simple, Pencil enabled track(s) enable note insertion.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-29-2010, 11:37 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
It is very simple, Pencil enabled track(s) enable note insertion.

filosofem
You have not answered the question at all. If there are 2 penciled enabled tracks, an insertion at C1 will insert notes on both of those tracks. I have explained the reason why this is unwanted in a color-mapped drum kit. You have not explained how to avoid this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:09 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

I know children that get disciplined for an attitude like yours obviously you still have not learnt.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-29-2010, 06:02 PM
musicalavtech musicalavtech is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Piqua, oHIo
Posts: 509
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiltrator View Post

as for the previous member's response before yours... i don't get it... is he on drugs or something? and apparently he does not fully agree with you, as he has presented other ways of setting the tracks in order to pull off what i request.

I hope the ability of the pro tools 8 MIDI editor can be clarified by someone before I commit to it.
Not everyone always agrees with all advice offered here...true. If you happen to 'commit' to PT8 and someday you learn what you need to know, then maybe you can offer advice on this forum. I'll bet you won't always get it right and perfect everytime.

It's a good thing to be offered more than one direction of doing things in ProTools. It's rotten to suggest that someone (more PT8 knowledgeable) who is trying to offer help to you is on drugs.
__________________
OSX10.6.8, 1st gen Power Mac,
PT8.0.5, Mbox2
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:25 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by filosofem View Post
I know children that get disciplined for an attitude like yours obviously you still have not learnt.

filosofem
What attitude? Show me where I have given you attitude? There was not a shred of attitude in my response. I gave you a response devoid of any emotion or feeling whatsoever. I simply stuck to the facts and indicated that your response was not relevant to the issue at hand. But I was always appreciative of your efforts to help and this should have been apparent as mutual even if not expressed.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:29 AM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicalavtech View Post
Not everyone always agrees with all advice offered here...true. If you happen to 'commit' to PT8 and someday you learn what you need to know, then maybe you can offer advice on this forum. I'll bet you won't always get it right and perfect everytime.
This is simply not relevant to the issue at hand and you are missing what I am getting at. I simply am trying to find out if I can do certain things BEFORE i decide to buy PT8! It is more rational to know the features before buying something than to buy something and find out the features are not there.

Quote:
It's a good thing to be offered more than one direction of doing things in ProTools. It's rotten to suggest that someone (more PT8 knowledgeable) who is trying to offer help to you is on drugs.
That is absolutely not why I indicated that other member was on drugs. You are not reading things carefully. And regardless, in this day and age, everything that is posted on the internet is not even taken seriously (nor should it be) except by a few people who are a bit too sensitive to the medium.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:58 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

RTFM. You have wasted enough of my time.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-31-2010, 07:53 PM
Infiltrator Infiltrator is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 208
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

i did. i even referenced the reference guide. and still no luck for at least finding an option for shortcuts to jump to different tracks to be targeted for pencil mode. only clicking. and i was deceived into believing that all pro tools functions can be done with shortcuts. good thing i didnt buy it yet.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-31-2010, 08:51 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Color coding options for MIDI Editor

Mate we only just got an editor that sort of competes with the rest. If you want programmable actions and micros go to Reaper. Unfortunately we can not have the best of both worlds.

filosofem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone clarify 1) Midi Track Sizing, and 2) color coding Midi Editor Infiltrator Pro Tools 9 5 01-10-2011 07:53 AM
Color Coding karli456 Tips & Tricks 3 09-12-2008 10:10 PM
LE v7.4-Color Palette & Track Color Coding Vbhalla Tips & Tricks 4 01-02-2008 04:13 PM
Color coding bug in 6.9??? Ian Bodzasi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-20-2005 09:51 AM
midi color coding?? Armando Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 11-26-2004 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com