Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-12-2008, 09:30 AM
karli456 karli456 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Default Color Coding

I recently worked with an engineer who told me about a setting in Pro Tools, where you can mark the fader so that if someone( (a musician) comes and moves it out of the posistion you had it in... You can see where it was and easily get it back to that place... Can anyone tell me what setting this is? I can't seem to recreate what he did and its driving me nuts! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2008, 09:45 AM
guitarmongoose guitarmongoose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 161
Default Re: Color Coding

Well in the mix window there are tiny up and down arrows near the bottom of the channel strip that indicate when the fader is above or below the previously written automation level. I'm not sure if that is what you are talking about.
__________________
Brad Semenoff
Sound Editor

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-12-2008, 09:52 AM
karli456 karli456 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Default Re: Color Coding

Its more of a color option... He would move the fader, and there would be a gray background over the color that the channel strip was... indicating where the fader used to be... It almost looked like there was something seriously wrong with our pro tools rig... but i found out that it was a preference when I asked him about it... He just didn't show me the setting that it was... and I have to know. Its an awesome trick to play on musicians... it doesn't screw up your mix, and it makes the musician think that they're actually doing something.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-12-2008, 10:10 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default Re: Color Coding

Quote:
Originally Posted by karli456 View Post
I recently worked with an engineer who told me about a setting in Pro Tools, where you can mark the fader so that if someone( (a musician) comes and moves it out of the posistion you had it in... You can see where it was and easily get it back to that place... Can anyone tell me what setting this is? I can't seem to recreate what he did and its driving me nuts! Thanks
If you record something and then automate it. As long as the READ button is on, the fader will always go back to the written automation. If you are not sure of what you want to write for automation, then touch/latch is what you want to do. It will leave the previous line for you to see as you try to write a better pass at the automation. Even that will snap back once you take it off auto and put it in read mode.
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Color-coding... GW Artist Series 1 04-24-2011 11:30 PM
Color coding GS-DK Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 06-18-2010 09:13 PM
LE v7.4-Color Palette & Track Color Coding Vbhalla Tips & Tricks 4 01-02-2008 04:13 PM
Color Coding Defekt Tips & Tricks 5 08-05-2007 08:47 PM
Color coding bug in 6.9??? Ian Bodzasi Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-20-2005 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com