Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2007, 10:40 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Expand tracks findings in 7.4

Hi,

"Match" tracks not working in PT7.4. Try this to reproduce:

BWAV (24bit 48k) recorded on a Deva IV. Meta-data contains the following:

-Tape Nr.
-Scene and take number
-Track names all labeled

etc. etc.

File is imported into a AVID (Avid 2.75 Adrelaline, DNXcel) and edited as usual. Then the original avid audio-media (.mxf) is copied to the PT7.4 system plus an AAF referenced to those files.
AAF opens up fine in 7.4 and links fine to the .mxf media.
Lets pretend the editor only used track one for editing and I want to find and match the rest of the up to 8 tracks per clip.

I import the original deva BWAV into the same session. PT shows all the info in the browser fine after import. I can see both the .mxf and .wav sitting side by side in the project-browser. Both contain the INDENTICAL original TC, scene and take numbers, sound-roll info etc. etc.

However, PT7.4 will NOT match the original BWAVs to the clips in the time-line.

Why is this? Isn´t this the way it should work?

I´ve asked this before in an older thread. Can someone from Digi share some info about what fields in the browser have to match to make this work, please? This would at least help me to find a work-around till it works in a (hopefully near) future version.

Thanks!

Frank.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:14 PM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 306
Default Re: Expand tracks findings in 7.4

frank,
what happens if you save a session copy as BWF files?
I wonder if digi have had the foresight to copy the MXF metadata to BWF bext fields.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2007, 11:46 PM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Expand tracks findings in 7.4

Quote:
frank,
what happens if you save a session copy as BWF files?
I wonder if digi have had the foresight to copy the MXF metadata to BWF bext fields.
I´ll see if that works. However, I do see all the meta-info in my project browser in both the AVID .mxf media and the BWAVs I imported so I I don´t quite see why this would improve things. But I´ll try.

frank.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2007, 02:27 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Expand tracks findings in 7.4

Quote:
frank,
what happens if you save a session copy as BWF files?
I wonder if digi have had the foresight to copy the MXF metadata to BWF bext fields.
It doesn´t make a difference.

I´m using a work-around now. Instead of importing the original BWAVs I´m adding all other avid audio-media to my edit session. With the avid-media matching seems to work.

The down-side is that importing MXF seems to be buggy (see my other thread from today) wich makes import of large amounts of mxf media a VERY time-consuming process.

frank.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2007, 04:06 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 6,021
Default Re: Expand tracks findings in 7.4

Ok, so now I get an "unable to parse audio file" message from PT when right-clicking on a region. Unfortunately PT doesn´t just skip that file and continues to look for matches it just stops after you "OK" the message.
The weirdest thing is that the file PT indicated isn´t even registered with the session. It´s on the drive but is not in my session.

?????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????

frank.

P.S: Yes, i get this message again even after deleting the DB again and re-opening the session.
__________________
PTHDnPCIe 2024.6 (OSX13.6.7), 8x8x8, MacPro 14,8, Decklink SDI 4k, SYNC HD, Nanosyncs HD, 64GB RAM, Xilica Neutrino, Meyersound Acheron
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Expand Channels to New Tracks Moviesound Post - Surround - Video 6 08-25-2012 02:05 AM
Expand tracks by timecode for concert conforming Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 2 03-29-2009 06:08 PM
Expand to Tracks crashes Pro Tools 7.4 marre Post - Surround - Video 8 03-10-2008 05:06 PM
Expand tracks - Not working with correct meta-data Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 11 11-12-2007 08:50 AM
Expand size of tracks vertically SHORTCUT? dave2005 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 11-12-2006 07:38 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com