Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-11-2016, 10:53 PM
dalonso66's Avatar
dalonso66 dalonso66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 89
Default H Key and snap to playhead?

Sorry I'm new and coming from Logic, but I thought the H key was like Logic's Pickup Clock command, but I can't seem to get it to do anything... here's a video explaining what I'm looking for:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkoNICU3OYQ
__________________
2018 3.2 GHz Mac Mini 6 Core, OS 11.6.8 64GB Ram

PT Ultimate 22.7.0 - EuControl 22.4 - Avid MTRX Studio - Pro Tools Dock - JBL 705p Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:13 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

Control+click the clip to spot it to the playhead. Control+Shift+click the clip to spot its sync point to the playhead. Command+control+click a clip to spot the end of it to the playhead.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-12-2016, 12:43 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Control+click the clip to spot it to the playhead. Control+Shift+click the clip to spot its sync point to the playhead. Command+control+click a clip to spot the end of it to the playhead.
Add Option/Alt to copy the clip(s).
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-12-2016, 09:31 AM
dalonso66's Avatar
dalonso66 dalonso66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Control+click the clip to spot it to the playhead. Control+Shift+click the clip to spot its sync point to the playhead. Command+control+click a clip to spot the end of it to the playhead.
Yes, but this only works for 1 clip. A workaround for more than 1 clip would be to make a clip group I guess, but I was hoping for something more simple.
__________________
2018 3.2 GHz Mac Mini 6 Core, OS 11.6.8 64GB Ram

PT Ultimate 22.7.0 - EuControl 22.4 - Avid MTRX Studio - Pro Tools Dock - JBL 705p Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-12-2016, 10:12 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

You can also drag in multiple files from the workspace in spot mode.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-12-2016, 10:35 AM
dalonso66's Avatar
dalonso66 dalonso66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

Sorry, but that's not what I'm wanting at all actually. I just want to select multiple clips on one or multiple tracks in the edit window and snap them to my cursor/playhead.
__________________
2018 3.2 GHz Mac Mini 6 Core, OS 11.6.8 64GB Ram

PT Ultimate 22.7.0 - EuControl 22.4 - Avid MTRX Studio - Pro Tools Dock - JBL 705p Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-12-2016, 10:40 AM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,254
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

you already posted the solution (clip groups) so I was just offering an additional, alternative method in case it better fits your workflow.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-12-2016, 11:00 AM
dalonso66's Avatar
dalonso66 dalonso66 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Posts: 89
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

Gotcha. I was assuming my workaround wasn't the most elegant solution, but I guess it is. Thank you.
__________________
2018 3.2 GHz Mac Mini 6 Core, OS 11.6.8 64GB Ram

PT Ultimate 22.7.0 - EuControl 22.4 - Avid MTRX Studio - Pro Tools Dock - JBL 705p Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-14-2016, 05:26 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

"H" is meant to be used with deselected "Link Timeline and Edit Selection".
The screenshots shows how to do it in PT.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-14-2016, 05:28 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,687
Default Re: H Key and snap to playhead?

And the same for the 2nd example in the video.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 6 multiple Clips to be moved to Location 1.jpg (57.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 7 select all Clips.jpg (55.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 8 deselect Link Timeline and Edit.jpg (55.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 9 recall Location 1.jpg (55.0 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg 10 after pressing H.jpg (54.8 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Playhead issues Keslin Pro Tools 10 3 05-30-2014 11:07 AM
Playhead sticks esessions Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-24-2011 01:31 PM
The Playhead Cliffy_Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 12-13-2005 08:42 AM
I have ? about stopping the playhead manovideo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 07-30-2002 05:32 PM
Apple monitor blues? Snap, Snap, etc. shaggy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 01-03-2002 02:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com