Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire & USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2013, 02:26 PM
johnwoog johnwoog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1
Default MBox 3 Pro stopped working

I have an Mbox 3 Pro and have been getting intermitteant distortion on playback for a few weeks.

Then the meters for channel one and two are all the way up, those two channels show an orange mute symbol in the control panel and the mbox doesn't work in Pro Tools (10) or outside of it. I have backed up the drivers all the way to the original ones and the condition remains the same. Is there:

A An easy fix for this

B This Mbox 3 Pro is out of warrenty. What would it cost at one of the regional centers?

C Could the input jack for channels one and/or two be shorted? And if I opened the box and rewired them would it immediately turn the thing into a doorstop or possibly fix it. Of course, it could be a short in the output.

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. I might just have to replace the thing. Any suggestions on that?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2013, 09:38 PM
FLi's Avatar
FLi FLi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: South Africa
Posts: 116
Default Re: MBox 3 Pro stopped working

Have you tried reloading the driver software and or firmware? Most of the issues on the Mbox 3 Pro seem to be down to drivers or firmware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2013, 05:48 PM
StewartR StewartR is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 8
Default Re: MBox 3 Pro stopped working

How does the MBox connect? Firewire? I would try replacing the firewire cable before anything else as I was about to go out and buy a new MBox Pro recently and tried everything until I finally replaced the firewire cable and it fixed everything. My post on this topic is at http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=341183


Stewart
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2013, 02:28 PM
jeffsacc jeffsacc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Default Re: MBox 3 Pro stopped working

Where do I find the Firmware updates? I found drivers but not the firmware.

(sorry if this is the worlds dumbest question, but I'm not so computer savy and not sure what all these terms mean.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2013, 06:16 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: MBox 3 Pro stopped working

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffsacc View Post
Where do I find the Firmware updates? I found drivers but not the firmware.

(sorry if this is the worlds dumbest question, but I'm not so computer savy and not sure what all these terms mean.)
Normally if a firmware update is needed it will tell you while running the installer and offer to update it for you.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OSX 10.8.5 & MBox Pro 2 were working but stopped (PT 11) Nate19 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-14-2014 09:11 AM
Mbox 2 stopped working. boohowdy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-26-2010 01:28 PM
Mbox 2 pro stopped working nolodevice 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-26-2008 08:06 AM
MBox 2 just stopped working Mixtrix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-21-2007 07:53 PM
MBox stopped working p_frog 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-27-2004 09:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com