Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-05-2011, 08:31 PM
soundeditor76 soundeditor76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 39
Default Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Since my upgrade to Lion, and new core audio drivers for my 003, multichannel 5.1 playback has not worked. I'm a motion picture sound editor, in the past I have prepped reference DVDs for editorial in 5.1 and could play them back using VLC and my 003. Since the upgrade the multichannel settings will not save within OSX. I switched out interfaces and found it only occurs with the 003. Has anyone else experienced this problem? I would like to playback 5.1 within OSX!

I have tried reinstalling the core audio driver, trashing prefs including Audio Midi Setup prefs to no avail. Any othet suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:27 PM
paulmilleraudio paulmilleraudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tacoma WA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

I am having the same problem. It just will not save with the 003 and I do not know why? Have you figure out any way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 03:31 PM
soundeditor76 soundeditor76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 39
Exclamation Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Its been months since I posted this, and there is still no response. Multichannel output does not work any more with the 003 through Audio Midi Setup. I spent a whole day trying to figure it out again today, deleting plists, reinstalling the 003 driver, updating OSX to 10.7.3, trashing prefs, nothing... Anyone else out there having issues? I'm starting to believe that maybe it means its time to sell my 003, hahahah, might put it on craigslist tonight..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:01 PM
paulmilleraudio paulmilleraudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tacoma WA
Posts: 3
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Thanks funny I was trying to get it work today as well and still no luck. I have pretty much done everything that you have done as well and it still will not save. What other interface are you using in the 003 place?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 04:42 PM
soundeditor76 soundeditor76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 39
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Yea its really annoying and frustrating. I can't reference anything outside of Pro Tools in 5.1, i.e. VLC/Mplayer/Mac Blu-ray Player etc etc.

Funny thing is, I was able to do this before when I was running Pro Tools 8, and the earlier version of the core audio driver.

I have even tried it on multiple systems, just in case there was a OS corruption. No luck, all the systems responded the same way, once the multichannel settings were set for the 003, as soon as you quit they would reset.

There is something wrong with the 003 core audio driver, its not communicating properly with audio midi setup. I think that there is a coding error which doesn't allow it to properly write a plist file. When I change multichannel settings for other interfaces within Audio Midi Setup it retains the information.

I can't imagine AVID addressing this, considering they are planning to discontinue the 003, however it would be great to get a working v10 driver in the interim.

If anyone knows any work around for this please let me know, because I really don't feel like selling my 003 right now, but if I can't get multichannel audio output out of it, I will be forced to.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-17-2012, 11:32 AM
F/V Sound F/V Sound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 19
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Same problem here with both 002 and HD Native system. 5.1 settings in Audio MIDI Setup will not save on 10.7.4. Anyone have any luck with this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-14-2013, 01:05 PM
dkerins dkerins is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

I know this is an old thread, but I am currently having the same issue with Mountain Lion and my Avid Omni. Have there been any fixes for this issue?
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-11-2013, 11:39 AM
wotan616 wotan616 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

Sorry to bump an old thread but I figured out something that worked on my system and figured I'd post my solution.

The Audio Midi Setup multichannel configuration issue plagued me when I updated PT8 HD to PT10 HD -- wouldn't save no matter what I tried. Then I started to wonder if it might be a permissions issue. Sure enough, when I logged into the Administrator account and made the changes, they saved just fine, and then stayed that way in the studio account as well.

So log in as Administrator, make the changes, save, then log into your regular account and hopefully you'll be good. Worked for me. OS X 10.6.8, Pro Tools HD 10.3.6.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-07-2014, 01:24 PM
kropa kropa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: Audio Midi Setup will not save multichannel config

I just bumped into this thread, cause I'm having the same problem. Can You tell me, where should I change those permissions You've wrote about? I looked almost everywhere, where I thought I'll find it and everything seems fine, but I'm quite lame in "advanced usage of a computer"

I have HD Omni and PT 10 and also I can't save multichannel config in Audio Midi. It bumps to stereo every time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio Midi Setup, Multichannel Audio Problem soundeditor76 Pro Tools 10 0 04-13-2012 04:49 PM
Cannot create multichannel paths under Setup I/O MGalway Pro Tools 9 3 06-02-2011 10:19 PM
need advice on monitoring setup/config Brent M Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 06-29-2008 02:59 PM
multichannel via apple audio midi setup applegutter General Discussion 2 09-16-2004 02:30 PM
I/O Setup config digi002/RMI ADI-8 Pro lesoufs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-20-2004 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com