Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2007, 01:51 AM
UK RAF UK RAF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
Default TL Space Native: CPU spikes and audio glitches

Excuse me if this issue has already been dealt with, but I cannot find any mention to it anywhere, and wonder if it is something to do with my computer rather than the plug-in itself.

Whenever I instantiate TL Space RTAS in a Pro Tools Session, Pro Tools shows a CPU spike at 100%, and shows continuous usage at about 33%. Once there is audio passing through this one plug-in, there are frequent 100% spikes of CPU usage and drop-outs in the audio. This happens more often during the fade out after a transient.

This happens even in a session with a single midi track going to an XPAND! track which has the TL Space on it (about the simplest session I can think of with active monitoring of the problem).

I have recently upgraded to 7.3.1 thinking that this would fix the problem, but it is still there and driving me crazy.

I have no other performance issues with plug-ins or record/replay on my system.

Specs:
Music XPC-style computer (Shuttle SB61G2)
P4 2.8 GHz
1 Gig RAM
Digi 002
PT LE 7.3.1
__________________
Digi002/PT 7.3.1
Shuttle XPC SB61G2: P4 (2.8GHz), 1Gb RAM, 80Gb SP0812N (System), 160Gb SP1614N (Data), DVDRW, NVidia 7600GS
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2007, 05:24 AM
UK RAF UK RAF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
Default Re: TL Space Native: CPU spikes and audio glitches

Has anyone got TL Space Native working without glitches in Windows XP with Pro Tools LE 7.x ?
__________________
Digi002/PT 7.3.1
Shuttle XPC SB61G2: P4 (2.8GHz), 1Gb RAM, 80Gb SP0812N (System), 160Gb SP1614N (Data), DVDRW, NVidia 7600GS
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2007, 07:38 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: TL Space Native: CPU spikes and audio glitches

Yes. I have it working just fine on both my systems.

It sounds like you may be experiencing Denormalization. try inserting a dither plugin inline before TL-Space like they mention in that article
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2007, 01:15 PM
UK RAF UK RAF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: London, UK
Posts: 48
Default Re: TL Space Native: CPU spikes and audio glitches

Quote:
It sounds like you may be experiencing Denormalization. try inserting a dither plugin inline before TL-Space like they mention in that article
thanks for restoring my faith in the DUC - it works now, thanks to placing an instance of POW dither directly above the TL Space instance! Why isnt this in their documentation?

Brilliant! I am very happy - thanks a lot!
__________________
Digi002/PT 7.3.1
Shuttle XPC SB61G2: P4 (2.8GHz), 1Gb RAM, 80Gb SP0812N (System), 160Gb SP1614N (Data), DVDRW, NVidia 7600GS
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Space (AAX/Native) not authorizing Space 11.1 YYR123 AAX Plug-ins 12 01-29-2014 01:33 PM
TL-Space Native and TL-Space TDM question ArKay99 RTAS & TDM Plug-ins 3 08-04-2013 08:54 PM
TL Space Native and Windows audio driver Clint_v_Kapel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 01-08-2010 04:51 AM
Anybody got CPU spikes with TL Space 8.0cs3 and PT 8.0.1cs1 ? chrisdee Virtual Instruments 3 12-04-2009 07:37 AM
Help with TL Space Native LiamSlack 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-10-2008 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com