Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-02-2005, 09:26 AM
Gordon -10 Gordon -10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Default Drive partitions

Ive been thinking about partitioning my hard drive and installing a separate windows on each. So I can have one boot for normal computer use, and the other boot for protools. That way all the settings as far as disabling startup items, disabling hardware devices, and everything else that is necisary for pro tools to run well will be saved to a particulary partition. So instead of changing it back and forthe everytime, I can just boot the Operating system for either normal,or protools use and the settings will allready be saved. Has anybody done this? or know any reasons why I should or shouldn't do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-02-2005, 10:06 AM
seagull seagull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 129
Default Re: Drive partitions

It works really slick. I've got XP and service pack 2 on one partition for the internet (with antivirus etc) and another partition for ProTools with XP and service pack 1 with just a minimal setup. I'm putting together an Allenstien machine and I'll set it up the same way. I just don't have the space for a dedicated ProTools setup and another computer for internet/Word/gaming. Its easy to set up (you do need to wipe the drive so you'll need to back-up/re-install) and works well. Hope this helps.
__________________
"What we Play is Life" -Louis Armstrong
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-02-2005, 12:38 PM
blizzard's Avatar
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 404
Default Re: Drive partitions

Hey Gordon!

I recently setup my machine for a dualboot and it is working great! I have mine with 1 Hard Drive having 3 partitions (OS-General / OS-Audio / Storage General). I then have a second Drive for just Audio storage. My Audio OS is bare bones as far as programs and services. I referenced blackviper.com for a great list of all essential servives and how to strip your system down.

Everything has been running real smooth. I would also recommend using an app such as Norton Ghost to back up both OS's when you get them working nice. That way you can recall either one if things get bogged down or ruined.

I highly recommend a dual boot system. Worked great for me.

blizzard
__________________
DAW - ProArt B550-Creator / 5950X / 128GB / WD SN850 1TB / PT 2023.9 / RME UFX+

Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 2023.9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-03-2005, 12:43 PM
elv1s1sal1ve elv1s1sal1ve is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 79
Default Re: Drive partitions

I just bought a new laptop that I want to run ptle on. I'm pretty illiterate when it comes to all this multi OS stuff, but I'd really like to take that approach so that I can run ptle, reason, kontakt2, etc. on one drive and all my other computing needs on a different partition. I checked out the black viper link, but it's still a bit over my head. I've been reading through many of the threads here that it's recommended to do a reinstall of XP on a new computer, but I'm a little leary of how to do that. I actually burned system restore CD's, but i'm not sure that means they contain the full version of XP that i need to reinstall. Are there any websites that explain these processes in more layman's terms? Thanks.
__________________
Gateway 7510GX, AMD Athlon 64 3700+ 2.39 GHz, Windows XP Pro, PTLE 7.3.1.123, MBox, 1 GB RAM, external Seagate 150 GB HD
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-03-2005, 12:51 PM
Gordon -10 Gordon -10 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 19
Default Re: Drive partitions

Sorry dude, i don't know of any web sites. But does anybody know if you use something like partition magic will it operate sucessfully without haveing to whipe my hard drive and start over?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How big should my audio drive partitions be? guitarzzan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 02-17-2007 01:41 AM
drive partitions woodshopsound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 11-19-2006 07:18 AM
how do i tell what partitions belong to what drive maskedman72 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-17-2004 07:42 AM
Drive partitions itchyvinyl 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 06-10-2002 11:17 AM
Hard Drive partitions Rams Boy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 04-25-2001 09:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com