Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-27-2005, 03:53 PM
supercell supercell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: torrance,ca
Posts: 116
Default Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

Hey Duc'ers

Hope you all had a groovy Chistmas.

I currently own a Roland TD-10 drum module with a few pad's. I use the TD-10 for all my MIDI drum programing and it sounds pretty dang good. The cymbals are not the greatest but after some tweaking, I can get everything to work pretty good.

Of course I have heard great things about BFD.

Has anyone out there compared the two? What do you all think?

Thanks in advance..

Bp.
__________________
Jesus, Dual 2x2 G5, 002 Rack, 23" Apple Cenima, Stlyus RMX
Waves Platinum v.5, IK Philharmonick, Roland TD-10
BFD (Soon), Good tunes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-27-2005, 04:23 PM
KathyLaBonte KathyLaBonte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 20
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

Quote:
I currently own a Roland TD-10 drum module with a few pad's. I use the TD-10 for all my MIDI drum programing and it sounds pretty dang good. The cymbals are not the greatest but after some tweaking, I can get everything to work pretty good.

Of course I have heard great things about BFD.

Has anyone out there compared the two? What do you all think?

BFD is AMAZING. It is absolutely, hands down, the best drum source available. I love the reality of it. I also own a TD-10 that drives a flagship Hart Dynamics Pro 6.4 kit. I am currently in the process of figuring out how to make the BFD my main setup. You use the TD10 and drums to control the BFD plugin. It has a learn feature that is supposed to be pretty easy in terms of assigning each pad to the right midi note and drum by just hitting it and letting it learn. I have not spent the time to go thru the whole process yet but am determined to do so. The one area that will have to be just right for me to use it will be the hihat and that is complex. It's apparently 99% there. If I can get BFD properly setup for smooth playing from my TD10/Hart kit then I will not use anything else. If I have problems executing and playing it smoothly then I will even consider doing some of my drumtracks with BFD thru a standard keyboard. I hate to give up the natural choice of playing the kit but I will if it gives me trouble. I have played BFD on my standard midi keyboard and it is unbelievably good. They went thru great time and trouble to record the drums just right and you can't beat it.

I'm a big fan of BFD at this point and just hope that I can get it to work smoothly with my setup.

Try it.

Kathy
__________________
Peace, Kathy
Pro Tools 7, Nuendo 3, Logic 7, Mac G5 (Dual 2.5ghz), Two 23" Cinematics, Two 19" LCDs, 002 Console & Mackie Control, MOTU 2408
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-27-2005, 04:44 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,818
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

There is a BFD preset available for the TD-10 with everything already mapped out. You can download it from the FXpansion website - make sure to read the instructions, as there are some things that you need to configure for it to work properly.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-27-2005, 05:20 PM
KathyLaBonte KathyLaBonte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 20
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

Quote:
There is a BFD preset available for the TD-10 with everything already mapped out. You can download it from the FXpansion website - make sure to read the instructions, as there are some things that you need to configure for it to work properly.
Hi,

Yes, that is correct. I believe I do have that file (maybe an outdated one though) but there are still some configurations as you said, that need to be toyed with for it to perform correctly. I haven't sat down with it yet but I'm looking forward to getting it running.
__________________
Peace, Kathy
Pro Tools 7, Nuendo 3, Logic 7, Mac G5 (Dual 2.5ghz), Two 23" Cinematics, Two 19" LCDs, 002 Console & Mackie Control, MOTU 2408
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2006, 08:42 PM
supercell supercell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: torrance,ca
Posts: 116
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

Thanks for your thoughts.

Anyone else compare the two?

Thanks and happy new year.

B.p.
__________________
Jesus, Dual 2x2 G5, 002 Rack, 23" Apple Cenima, Stlyus RMX
Waves Platinum v.5, IK Philharmonick, Roland TD-10
BFD (Soon), Good tunes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-02-2006, 06:51 AM
redchair redchair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winthrop, MA
Posts: 56
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

I have been using the Roland TD 8 kit as my setup,,,for sometime,,being a soloist,,,its been great,,,but I needed the ablility too have my drums be more consistent what not..so I purchase BFD,,,unfortunetly the vendor did not tell me how much space it would take up on my computer,,,,it was a disaster,,,,although I can see that this program is it for drum plug ins,,and also,,,great too learn about different kits, etc in general,,a must for drummers and non-drummers overall,,,

I have been waiting too hear back from their tech help too solve my problem...in the meantime I purchased a external hard drive with 200 mb hoping this will solve the problem.....
__________________
Redchair Recordings
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:59 AM
KathyLaBonte KathyLaBonte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New England
Posts: 20
Default Re: Roland TD-10 Vrs. BFD Drums

This is an old thread but as I was reading thru it I thought I would update my thoughts.

I've actually stopped using BFD because for the longest time it was so hard to get the hats working realistically and it's a huge hog on the computer as well. IMHO, I think that BFD was released way before it should have been and customers have been paying for what I consider a "beta" software. Now that they are close to the version 2.0 release though I expect good things...

In the meantime, I came across EZ Drummer. The name alone turned me off. I resisted even looking at it or trying it because it just sounded like a Fisher-Price type plugin or toy.

I have to admit, I'm glad I didn't listen to myself.

It's much easier to use (hence, the repelling EZ in the name) and is less of a resource hog. There's already SOME work done on the acoustic samples which is why it sounds good right out of the box but you still have plenty of tweaking available to you for customization if you choose. The interface is absolutely gorgeous. One thing I dislike about BFD is the GUI.

I would like to try the DFH Superior now because that has all the bells and whistles that BFD does and I'm betting my money on the fact that the interface and ease of use is still more along the lines of their EZ stuff. I wish EZ had just a few more choices in their kits which is why DFHS will probably come in handy eventually.

For now, I'm real happy using EZ drumsets along with my Hart Dynamics kit to trigger them.
__________________
Peace, Kathy
Pro Tools 7, Nuendo 3, Logic 7, Mac G5 (Dual 2.5ghz), Two 23" Cinematics, Two 19" LCDs, 002 Console & Mackie Control, MOTU 2408
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone Using Oceans way drums and Roland v drums? bonzerboy General Discussion 2 10-06-2010 10:45 AM
Oceans way DRUMS and roland v drums bonzerboy Virtual Instruments 1 10-06-2010 10:17 AM
Anyone Using Roland TD-9 Drums with Steven Slate Drums? Troy Tracks Studio The Drum Room 2 05-05-2010 07:55 AM
e-drums - roland TD 6 K gregor rasek 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 11-28-2003 10:32 AM
Anyone Ever Used Roland V Drums? SHC 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-19-2002 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com