Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2017, 03:37 AM
Neurosis's Avatar
Neurosis Neurosis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Burton On Trent. Staffordshire. UK
Posts: 63
Default Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Hi

Is there a way to copy all the track settings from one project into another? Let me explain:
In project "A" I have a guitar solo with various plugins, eq's, mixer pans, volumes etc. I wish to replicate all this in my project "B". I do not mind if i have to copy the audio as i can delete that in project "B". I really do not want to have cowrite it all down & input t manually

Any help appreciated
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, iMac 21.5" 3.1 GHz Intel Core i7 with 16gb. Saffire 14 Pro, Rokkit 6 monitors, Steven Slate Drums 4, Addictive Keys, Peavey Revalver 4, Waves plugins, ESP & Ibanez guitars & bass, M Audio controller
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2017, 03:46 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,601
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Search manual for Import Session Data.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2017, 03:49 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

File - > Import -> Session Data

Select project you want, open, select track you want to import from list. Go to "Track Data to Import" tab and deselect "Alternate Playlists" and "Clips and Media".

See manual for detailed explanation, but those steps will get you what you want.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2017, 03:56 AM
Neurosis's Avatar
Neurosis Neurosis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Burton On Trent. Staffordshire. UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Wow thats amazing! Just the ticket.
One last question. If i do his when selecting it to go to an existing track (say snare from project "A" to snare on project "B") and choose not to input audio (or midi data) does it replace all existing settings, plugins etc & leave the audio?midi data intact?

Thanks again
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, iMac 21.5" 3.1 GHz Intel Core i7 with 16gb. Saffire 14 Pro, Rokkit 6 monitors, Steven Slate Drums 4, Addictive Keys, Peavey Revalver 4, Waves plugins, ESP & Ibanez guitars & bass, M Audio controller
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2017, 04:24 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurosis View Post
Wow thats amazing! Just the ticket.
One last question. If i do his when selecting it to go to an existing track (say snare from project "A" to snare on project "B") and choose not to input audio (or midi data) does it replace all existing settings, plugins etc & leave the audio?midi data intact?

Thanks again
Yep! Good isn't it :)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:23 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurosis View Post
If i do his when selecting it to go to an existing track (say snare from project "A" to snare on project "B") and choose not to input audio (or midi data) does it replace all existing settings, plugins etc & leave the audio?midi data intact?
Yes, exactly. And the point here is remembering to choose not to import audio. Myself, I have many times mistakenly imported audio only to realise I need to redo everything all over again :/
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-25-2017, 07:33 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,607
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Yes, exactly. And the point here is remembering to choose not to import audio. Myself, I have many times mistakenly imported audio only to realise I need to redo everything all over again :/
Yes and in fact I've actually gone back to just importing the track as a "new" track, rather than trying to import over the existing one, for this exact reason(!) - and also it's a lot easier to delete any imported automation from the old track before copying the plug-ins etc over. (E.g.if you want the plug-in settings, but not the automation, which is impossible with the current set of options.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2017, 07:46 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 697
Default Track Settings Copy from one project to another

On a related note, you could also select one or more tracks and 'export selected tracks to new session' and save them for import later. Maybe you have favorite settings for Rhodes keys, so export that track and it's plugins and save it in a folder to 'import session data' into future sessions.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
7,1 MacPro, 3.2GHz 16-core, OSX 10.15
S6 M10+ 16-5, panners, MPM,Dolby Atmos RMU
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
www.TheToolshedStudio.com
Certified for Dolby Atmos Home Entertainment
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2017, 10:32 PM
Neurosis's Avatar
Neurosis Neurosis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Burton On Trent. Staffordshire. UK
Posts: 63
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Hey now that is clever!
__________________
Pro Tools 12.7, iMac 21.5" 3.1 GHz Intel Core i7 with 16gb. Saffire 14 Pro, Rokkit 6 monitors, Steven Slate Drums 4, Addictive Keys, Peavey Revalver 4, Waves plugins, ESP & Ibanez guitars & bass, M Audio controller
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2017, 11:47 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 22,961
Default Re: Track Settings Copy from one project to another

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucienpalmer View Post
On a related note, you could also select one or more tracks and 'export selected tracks to new session' and save them for import later. Maybe you have favorite settings for Rhodes keys, so export that track and it's plugins and save it in a folder to 'import session data' into future sessions.
Nice!
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy EQ settings to new track Ginridge Getting Started 7 09-24-2016 04:54 AM
Copy settings, paste settings ? Terry Wetzel General Discussion 6 04-03-2016 06:13 AM
Copy EQ settings to new track Ginridge Pro Tools 10 4 05-30-2013 11:30 AM
how do I copy the mixer settings to another project? joethevan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-03-2007 07:40 PM
Copy full album project in Digibase? Lawson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 02-10-2006 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com