Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-07-2001, 02:25 PM
digigirly digigirly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 388
Default paranoid or....?

I'm still confused wheter or not to upgrade from my beloved 9600/350 to a G4.
One more question on this topic.
Can I use 2 monitors,a mixplus,and my scsci disks on A G4 without an expansion unit?,and what do I need?
xxxxoo
__________________
Audio peace
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2001, 03:43 PM
Gulliver Gulliver is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 548
Default Re: paranoid or....?

digigirly:

I liked your entry in the "001 and girls" thread.

Currently, G4s have one AGP and 3 PCI slots. There is talk at Apple about moving the airport option to a PCI slot and increasing slots.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2001, 04:01 PM
Dog BBQ Dog BBQ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New New York
Posts: 1,120
Default Re: paranoid or....?

Don't buy a G4 until after the MAC Expo and after 5.1 is released!!!!!!!!

------------------
LCSProductions@att.net
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">quote:<HR>The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
The Greatest Risk in Life is Doing Nothing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2001, 04:38 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: paranoid or....?

Back to the ground

Don't buy someting if you don't get money out of it!

...or if it doesn,t make you happy. (i.e. got that better sound --for you, than... sometime your client will notice it--)

or:

Don't fix it if it's not broken.

JC

p.s. by the way I still have this old (1987) GM van for my band and we don't want to replace it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2001, 04:55 PM
James Henke James Henke is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Posts: 32
Default Re: paranoid or....?

Ive noticed that upgrade cards for the older macs arnt supported, and tend to cause problems. Youd be better of with e low end g4. ( and it much faster). But you probably gleened that. The main thing is the system bus and ram speeds, there significantly higher in g4's and after the expo may see an aditional speed bump to 133mhz. Oh and ram is redicoulsly expensive for older systems, my old j700 ( mac clone) is stuck at 96mb because Im not spending twice as much for the same amount ram. And those ATA hard drives are great- and cheap too and quiet!
So by the time youve assembled the equivalent system with an older mac youve spent twice as much- and get at least a third less perfomance. Old macs never die- they become media stations.
__________________
My Music:
http://www.mp3.com/ro
meomonkey
Old 4 tracks at work.
Quality is relative
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2001, 05:10 PM
JC925602 JC925602 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal
Posts: 769
Default Re: paranoid or....?

By the way if you're in post prod work...

You can buy a new Mac, and keep the old mac to work on an OMF transfer, then place all F/X, than go to your new (tdm) mac.

That kind of work will allow you to hire somebody to run the hold (or new) mac.

You have to think about asking some peoles to work for you!.... (if you o that and you live in canada ask around for gov. grant for creating job ---I don't know about other country---)

also look for digital video on your mac (aurora fuse or something else).

JC

p.s.
You will end up in the new poll that say there where 1000 new job in belgique, (or canada, or UK, or ....)

p.p.s
sory for my bad english.

p.p.p.s.
to bad that those boys are boys... ref: http://www.digidesign.com/ubb/Forum24/HTML/003869.html

[This message has been edited by JC925602 (edited January 07, 2001).]

[This message has been edited by JC925602 (edited January 07, 2001).]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2001, 07:25 PM
NuBus NuBus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: East Coast
Posts: 693
Default Re: paranoid or....?

Another great use for an Old MAC is a new Program Called VirtualVTR™ from Gallery! Turns your old MAC into a VTR that will lock to protools VIA MTC so you don't need that Extra card in your PCI busy G4!

Cool!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Paranoid Alert! Mac to PC! cheekypaul 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-10-2005 03:46 AM
Am I paranoid? (net transaction) poppy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 11-29-2003 06:07 AM
Please help a paranoid Me user take the plunge to XP. finalcut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-16-2003 09:33 PM
just a thought or am I paranoid ? andre tchmil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-19-2002 03:37 PM
Am I paranoid? Or do all of the major shippers... andyo General Discussion 4 05-18-2002 12:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com