Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2021, 10:32 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 532
Default Soundminer

This is a weird one... Of the 300,000 or so sounds in Soundminer, I have one set of sounds that show up, but won't audition. I can transfer them to Pro Tools just fine, but they won't play in SM. I've tried deleting the sounds from the database and then reimporting them. I can successfully play them directly in Quick Time. They are sounds I recorded some years ago, and use to work just fine in SM. Any ideas?
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2021, 01:46 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,714
Default Re: Soundminer

Did you try to mirror those files with the Soundminer (to .WAV) files and then add them to the database?
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2021.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
MTRX Studio + MOM ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2021, 04:26 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,827
Default Re: Soundminer

I would delete the entire database. Create a new one, and rescan all your sounds. It doesn't take all that long. I've had to do it and I also have 100's of thousands of sounds.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2021, 04:48 PM
Cheesehead Cheesehead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London
Posts: 831
Default Re: Soundminer

Have you asked Justin about it directly?
I'm sure he could solve it for you Mike.
__________________
Mac Pro 7,1 16 core, OSX 10.15.6, HD-Native TB, Trinnov MC, MTRX Studio, 2xRME ADA-4, Sync HD, AJA IO XT, PT Dock, PT Control, Soundflow, PT 2021.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-19-2021, 02:12 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 331
Default Re: Soundminer

I had the exact same issue with one sound file. Justin confirmed that it was a a bug. I think an update to the latest beta solved it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-19-2021, 02:48 PM
garret garret is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 592
Default Re: Soundminer

Are they Wav files or a different format?
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-22-2021, 03:58 AM
Sonopolis Sonopolis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Berlin
Posts: 331
Default Re: Soundminer

Quote:
Originally Posted by garret View Post
Are they Wav files or a different format?
Yes, mine was.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-28-2021, 01:52 PM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 532
Default Re: Soundminer

Thanks for the suggestions. I have emailed support and am waiting for a reply. I'll let you know what I discover.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-29-2021, 10:49 AM
subwoof subwoof is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Saratoga Springs Utah
Posts: 532
Default Re: Soundminer resolved

It turns out that the channel layout setting on those files had been changed to s. Once I deleted the s setting to blank, they worked fine. How they got that way I have no idea! Thanks everyone for your suggestions.
__________________
Michael McDonough, M.P.S.E.
Michael McDonough Sound Design


http://www.mcdonoughsound.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Soundminer v4.5 Standard or Soundminer HD Plus Oliver M Buy & Sell 0 12-21-2014 02:50 PM
wtb: Soundminer Pro yazoo Buy & Sell 0 10-13-2014 05:53 PM
Soundminer HD vs. V4 icenet Post - Surround - Video 6 10-13-2012 04:00 PM
SoundMiner for PC? MGagnon General Discussion 2 09-01-2003 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com