Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 02-13-2002, 10:04 AM

Default Field Recording

I'm a theatrical Sound Designer, and with almost every project i work on, I need field recordings. I almost always get requests from directors asking for enviormental sounds like pubs, streets, resturants,etc. In the past i would just borrow my friends portable tascam dat recorder and a 58 and head out into the world to capture whatever sounds I might need. But now my friend's moving away and of course so is my free DAT recorder. So i need to find a portable recorder, but i don't have don't a lot of money. I've been thinking about getting a portable minidisc recorder and a stereo mic, do any of you have recommendations for getting good inexpensive field recordings? I don't want to spend more than $300 on a mic and recorder.
Certified Protools6.x Post-Production Operator
Old 02-13-2002, 01:46 PM

Default Re: Field Recording

I found a set of 13 CD's full of sound effects and ambient noise at a pawn shop of all places. They had no idea what they were and sold them to me for 50 cents a piece. Ever since then I have looked in used CD stores for things like this and occasionally score some interesting loop cd's and stuff. You might try this, if for nothing more than an excuse to get into more cd stores. Other than that I have no suggestions for portable gear, I love my Tascam DAP-1 dat, but it was like 1000 bucks when I got it. Decent mic pre's, maybe you can find a used one?

Good Luck.
Old 02-13-2002, 02:56 PM