Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-13-2002, 10:19 AM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Spacebar crash

Seems that the only crashes I get are when I stop playback (or record) with the spacebar (once or twice a day). Looks like a USB issue but I don't know why. Otherwise PT runs like a charm. Any thoughts?
Mix+ PT.5.1.1
G4 400
OS 9.04
Atto
Cheetahs
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-13-2002, 02:10 PM
SoundWrangler SoundWrangler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Spacebar crash

You might try a Mac OS 9.1 upgrade from 9.04. It's a painless process, no downside for PT & audio in general. FWIW, Apple's descrip. of this update from 9.0.4 says "For the most part, Mac OS 9.1 is a system update that fixes bugs & improves operational performance and stability."

(There's an OS 9.2.x update also avail. on Apple's site. I note in the Digi Compat section that OS 9.2 requires v. 2.7 update of Atto Express.) While at Apple.com, of course, you might snoop whether there's any firmware upgrades, etc. relating to your CPU model, since it's an earlier one. I'm assuming, of course, that you've already combed over your system with Norton Disk Doctor & Anti-Virus, & that obvious system stuff...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-13-2002, 04:59 PM
Slideman Slideman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 100
Default Re: Spacebar crash

Thanks Soundwrangler-Yep, checked all of the normal stuff including the USB connections. I think it might be an extensions problem that has to do with USB (I've even disable the Superdisk USB extension and it still happens).
__________________
HD3 accel PT 6.9.2
OSX 10.4.1
G5 dual 2.0
3gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-13-2002, 08:36 PM
lionel wong lionel wong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 26
Default Re: Spacebar crash

hi is it a crash or a hang? i experanced some 5 to 9 min hangs.... simply cos the audio/os (same drive) internal IDE HDD was not defraged for 6 months.

you might want to look into defraging your drive if you have not done it. otherwise, it could be as the others described.

LW.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spacebar Problem def3mno62 Pro Tools 11 3 02-12-2014 12:47 PM
Can't hit the spacebar without a pop at the end spviii macOS 12 10-15-2012 05:15 PM
spacebar doesn't always work (again) Bennie Cook 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-14-2008 02:59 AM
Timeline and spacebar shacke 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-18-2007 05:24 PM
Possible fix for not playing from spacebar Greg B 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-16-2006 10:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com