Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2002, 09:06 AM
harry smit harry smit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Default PC switches off suddenly

As there are lots of experienced PC users reading this DUC I would like to know if there is somebody who could help me.

Phenomenon:
My PC sometimes shuts down just like that.
I have to remove the power plug for say 20 seconds and it can be switched back on again.

1. Maybe the PSU is somewhat too small?
2. 'Power Good' signal activated?
3. Main board faulty?
It happened after some reboots which were necessary for installing W98 and W2000 with Partition Magic.

Hardware:

PSU:
250W ATX (Inwin Q500 cabinet)

Board:
Gigabyte GA-6BXD, Rev 1.6, 1998 /
Intel 440BX AGPset (I do not know whether it concerns the Seattle version , but one IC contains the codes FW82371EB and SL 37M, 1998 Malaysia)
Bios: AWARD 4.51;
Bus speed: 66 MHz;
IDE: Ultra DMA/33;

OS:
W98SE UK and W2000 SP2 (selectable with Boot Magic upon start up).

RAM:
400 MByte

Processors:
Dual Intel Celeron 400 MHz (one is, how sad, disabled by Windows 98 SE) / L2 Cache per processor: 128 kByte.

Hard Disks:
1. Western Digital WDC AC418000D / 18 GByte / 7200 RPM / EIDE
2. An old Quantum 1.2 GByte / SCSI

SCSI:
Adaptec 2940U2W with BIOS V2.20.0.

CDs:
Plextor Ultraplex and Plexwriter / SCSI

Video:
ASUS 3800M / 32 MByte / TNT2-RIVA / AGP; user setting: 1024 * 768 - 72 Hz.

Audio:
AudioMedia III / BK08276 / upgraded by DigiDesign for Apple Macintosh G4.
Works fine with PT_LE under W98SE and one Celeron 400.

I hope that you are still able to give a possible solution after reading all these details.

Thanks in advance.

Harry

Sorry for posting this for the second time.
The former title 'PSU or something else' was a bad header. [img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2002, 09:47 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

There are many threads along these lines and numerous possible causes... including power supply and ram. Try searching for Spontaneous Reboots.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2002, 10:32 AM
tmat1075 tmat1075 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 40
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

When that happened to me, I was told to turn the video acceleration to "none". and I haven't had a problem since.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2002, 10:56 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

I vote for Power Supply too small...

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by harry smit:
250W ATX (Inwin Q500 cabinet)
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2002, 02:43 PM
Jopry Jopry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Austin,Tx USA
Posts: 378
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Mark_Knecht:
I vote for Power Supply too small...

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I agree...check the power supply. Also, what temperature is the cpu running when it shutsdown? Overheating can cause this as well.
__________________
Jared O'Pry
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-22-2002, 02:49 PM
harry smit harry smit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

Temperature per CPU: 34 degrees celcius.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2002, 04:27 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

do you by any chance have some powerschemes running?????

Bastiaan
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2002, 04:48 PM
gavinchan gavinchan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 116
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

My vote also goes to the power supply. Check that first since they aren't too expensive. It may be just plain faulty, causing spikes and fluctuations. Or even the power going to the power supply, (from the wall socket) yes, dirty power will effect PC stability.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2002, 11:50 PM
harry smit harry smit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 48
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

Hello Bastiaan,

Thanks for the suggestion but every "Green" thing and screen save bla bla have been disabled. Also in the BIOS.
My opinion is that people should be in control of the PC and not the other way around.

I will start to record the time the PC switches off. Maybe it is mains related. But using a 600 VA / 360 W IMV Victron UPS did
not help either.
According to the read-outs of the UPS the PC consumes about 115 W (@ 230 Vac).
Maybe that 250 W as indicated on the PC is
only for short duration.

Start to think of buying an Enermax 451.

Thanx again.

Harry
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2002, 12:16 AM
Drastikpup1 Drastikpup1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: St. Paul
Posts: 151
Default Re: PC switches off suddenly

miss matched memory. 400 megs of ram??

memory leak. replace yuor ram with one dim of 512 or 256.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Talkback Switches Dizzi45Z Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 02-17-2010 07:02 PM
Tempo Switches bontay General Discussion 2 10-22-2009 04:19 AM
Talkback switches? CraigLearmont ICON & C|24 4 10-28-2005 04:37 PM
OT Speaker switches matocaster1202 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-22-2004 01:43 PM
OT- Help! Does anyone know how to set the dip switches on Basshead3606 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 05-12-2003 10:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com