Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-22-2008, 05:36 PM
TwoPort TwoPort is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Granite Bay, California
Posts: 121
Default Importing Stereo Track & Adjusting Midi Tempo To Match

I'm working on a live band project. (with Venue & PT) We use a session for BGV's and other tracks. PT 7.4 has been AMAZING to get audio and etc. in and then adjust MIDI tempo to make it right...

I have this idea of taking songs we want to learn and getting a stereo pair of the original artist track - sticking it in the session - and then build our stuff around it - ultimately then getting rid of the original stereo pair track..

So I create a CD from iTunes cause the songs are locked. Then I have the stereo pair from the CD.

I import the "stereo pair track" into the session list. But when i bring it into my session which is tick based and has all elastic audio - that's when I am stuck...


The track comes in (and of course it's messed up a bit because it was 44.1 and my Venue sessions are all 48) and it is not "right" for the MIDI tempo...

So what I thought was - if I can "lock" the track like I would have done if it was sample based and no elastic audio - then the track would hold still while I moved the tempo around to get it aligned with my MIDI tempo. I would then get it on a "grid" - re-enable elastic audio - and then quantize it so I could build around it.


What happens is even if try to create a track that is sample based once it gets dropped in place from the play list it flexes with the tempo ... In other words - I can't hold the audio in an absolute time while I adjust the tempo around it...


any ideas of how to bring in the stereo pair in my session and hold it in an absolute time so I could move the tempo grid around it - then get it "unlocked" and quantized???


Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-29-2008, 09:24 PM
Scott Goldberg Scott Goldberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: SF Bay Area USA
Posts: 1,066
Default

You can try tap to tempo once you have eliminated your sample rate issue. It's kind of a crap shoot. Another is Command I for "Identify Beat" but all this is going to be contingent on how good the band was at staying in time.

To get tap to tempo go to preferences and I think it's in the midi menu where you can assign tap to tempo to be on and then, as playback starts highight the numerical box in the transport window and tap along with it using a midi controller or just the mouse if that's not an option. Also, make sure that midi through is checked in your menu along with "click."

Sorry, no promise that these will work but they can help. If the tempo is like, 85.345 you can even get it that close. good luck!
__________________
Scott Goldberg
Gold Recordings
http://www.goldrecordings.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to match tempo when importing??? manquenian macOS 1 05-08-2012 10:35 AM
Adjusting Volume of Individual Sides of a Stereo Track mbyeates 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-26-2010 09:47 AM
Pro tools tempo wont match keyboard tempo via midi Killah Kane 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 05-18-2010 01:55 PM
adjusting the tempo of an imported audio track erocker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-02-2009 10:48 AM
Grid Lock? Adjusting tempo not moving the start of a track? 11miles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-11-2009 10:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com