Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-25-2016, 09:36 PM

Default difference between MIDI automation and Audio automation on Instrument Track?

Hi, I'm a newbie to protools, currently using Protools 12 right now.
(I used to work with Logic Pro 9.)

I have a question about the automation options that you can edit in an instrument track.

Why is there both MIDI Volume/Panning AND Audio Volume/Panning for Instrument Track?
I've checked the manual and it explains that the two types of data are treated differently, but I am not sure how to differentiate the two when working on virtual instruments.

If you're working on MIDI data surely the automation data will be MIDI (wouldn't it?) so why have the option of audio automation?
(I remember in Logic Pro that whether you're working on MIDI or Audio, you would have one type of volume/panning...)

And my knowledge in DTM is not very deep, so if anyone could explain it to me simply that would be totally appreciated :)

Thanks!
Old 04-25-2016, 11:46 PM

Default Re: difference between MIDI automation and Audio automation on Instrument Track?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariam View Post
Hi, I'm a newbie to protools, currently using Protools 12 right now.
(I used to work with Logic Pro 9.)

I have a question about the automation options that you can edit in an instrument track.

Why is there both MIDI Volume/Panning AND Audio Volume/Panning for Instrument Track?
I've checked the manual and it explains that the two types of data are treated differently, but I am not sure how to differentiate the two when working on virtual instruments.