Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2007, 03:11 AM
andre67 andre67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rep. South Africa
Posts: 332
Default Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display

Plug-ins List display with lots of plug-ins since v7.0, I used PTS and this is still here.
I have lots of plug-ins eq’s ECT… for reasons each one have a different colour and or sound, I need to have this flexibility with variety. I do not want to get into a debate with why I having lots of plug-ins. The point is the list is so long that it is show out side of the viewing window, why can’t Digi not put an arrow similar to the Audio suite plug-ins menu so one could scroll the list indeed of displaying it out of the view of the screen display.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2007, 08:03 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display

And why can't you just pick your favorite plugins?

I know you said that you didn't want to get into a debate about this, but it's too late, you're posting on a public forum and I'm going to speak my mind.
  1. The plugins list in Pro Tools is capable of showing 256 plugins in the list for each category.
  2. If, for some reason, you have more than 256, it isn't going to do you any good to be able to see the rest of them, as you wouldn't be able to select them anyway; it stops at 256
  3. if you don't yet have 256 plugins, and you still can't see the whole list, then you need a better monitor with a bigger screen resolution.
  4. there is no way that anybody uses more than 256 different plugins, even if in multiple sessions for different "colors"
  5. pick your favorites and get rid of the rest

I used to have and complain about the same issue at one time, until I realized that I didn't even use 80% of the "free" plugins I had downloaded and converted.

Seriously, needing more than 256 plugins is just plain ridiculous.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-23-2007, 03:17 AM
andre67 andre67 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rep. South Africa
Posts: 332
Default Re: Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display

I am not going to drag this thing out just to please you, I for example have a few eq’s and compressors ECT… each company have an unique tone and colour to their eq. Simply because I want my recording not to sound similar I have a few plug-ins of the same category. At the same time I have both RTAS and VST installed of the same plug-in, the reason for this is simple if I run into a wall with a particular plug-in then I use VST instead of RTAS to elevate the CPU usage.

Just as you have right to ask this question so do I have the right not to get into this with. If you have a genuine reason or interest without being arrogant then mail me directly and I will gladly explained to you in detail. There you go again, why is it if you cannot give positive feedback that your arrogance comes to the forefront?..... Again you make assumptions, you are really a knowledgeable person however something you come out with an arrogant curve ball and make lots of assumption why is that?...why can you just be nice without stirring the pot so to speak?

1) I do not have a small screen; I have a 19’ wide at 1280x1024, now is this small?
2) I do not have near 256 plug-ins.

To get back to my point, Pro Tools is and should be ergonomically designed not to have these issues. Based on the audio suite plug-in list there is a scroll arrow why not implement this throughout PTS on the other plug-ins list?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2007, 04:24 AM
ejwells's Avatar
ejwells ejwells is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 4,530
Default Re: Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display

Bleeding Deacons. Familiar with the term?
It suggests someone that's been around so long,and given so much golden advice, that they now have contempt for the newcomer.
I'm not sure it applies to spk, but it's rampant on this site.
Seems like some folks have been giving advice on this forum for YEARS, and berating the new guy is like some sort of sport.
It reminds me (sometimes) of a bad AA meeting, or an early 90's aol chatroom.
That's why this is my second visit to the forum in 9 months.
It seems like there are probably better ways to spend ones time than answering forum questions.
I know for me there's work, recording, family, etc.

"Listen, IDIOT, you forgot your SANDRA report" is hardly worth saying.

Being a guru on ANY forum is rather a dubious honor, IMHO.

For me it's easier simply to pass up commenting on some posts.


__________________
Pro Tools 10.3.3 | HD Native | HD I/O 8x8x8 | Mac Pro 8 Core Westmere | 24GB RAM | OSX Lion 10.7.4 | API 3124 | Chandler TG-2 | UA 4-710d | Empirical Labs Distressor EL8X | Kemper Rack |
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I view Plug ins list on screen? Imagine ICON & C|24 6 05-11-2011 07:16 AM
view/display, I/O set up PT8 manyrains 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-24-2009 05:52 PM
Region List display satan Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 1 09-02-2007 10:26 PM
Display-mix window show- delay compensation view Yodah 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-18-2005 02:16 PM
PSA-1 screen display twisted FingerFlicker 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-02-2004 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com