Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-17-2016, 06:33 PM
klyphskinner klyphskinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

Hi all,
I have just joined a touring production that has been on the road since 2010, using a Profile at FOH along with a Pro Tools 8 HD rig, that is being used for recording and virtual Soundcheck.
In the past, before I got here, they were not having any issues. Recording and playback has been fine.
Since shortly before I got here, the recording has been fine, however on playback (virtual soundcheck) approximately half of the Channels are peaking (the WAV's look fine), and are coming back into the system mainly as white noise and distortion.

We load older recordings, done 4 months ago and older, and the WAV's and all channels look exactly the same, and the playback works just fine.

We are setting up all the sessions by taking the session info from the Venue.

Has anyone seen anything like this before?

I know it's an old version of PT, however the computer (Mac Pro, not sure of spec's, but can get) has been offline since probably 2010. No big updates have been done to it.

I have checked through the settings between sessions that are working, and others that are not, and it all appears to be the same.

I am also not sure that it would be the cards or cabling connecting the system to the computer, as the older recordings are playing back ok. I can see the distortion and noise on the meters in PT and on the Profile system.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks,


Cliff
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Peaking.jpg (61.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2016, 04:42 PM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

Hi,

You say wav files look ok, I would try this, lets say channel 5 is peaking - re-direct it to channel 1 just to see if this makes any difference.

Overall, this might be an Pro Tools issue, maybe with the Pro Tools session. If you need to use these files you can try to create a new session and import the tracks (plus audio) into the new session. Also If possible, try to use more recent Pro Tools version to see if that makes any difference.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2016, 07:48 PM
klyphskinner klyphskinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

I still don't know what's causing it, but was able to find a workaround.

If I record the session to the external drive, then transfer it to the Mac Pro HD, it plays back fine. The same session playing off the external is distorting.
Older recordings don't have this problem, only new ones I'm trying to do.

I'm in the process of trying to upgrade the hardware right now, and also update Pro Tools, so I'm going down that road.

Thanks for the assistance.

Cliff
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2016, 02:18 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 283
Default Re: Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

Interesting solution, makes me think it's something to do with the fragmenting of the drive. Do you have the ability to defragment the drive?
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-2016, 01:03 AM
klyphskinner klyphskinner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 8
Default Re: Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

I have not tried that. I will see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-03-2016, 01:16 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: Profile / Pro Tools 8 HD / Virtual Soundcheck issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by klyphskinner View Post
I have not tried that. I will see if that works.
Please backup and read about the topic of defragmentation on mac before you do so. AFAIK on mac windows-style defragmenting can lead to data-loss. "defragmentation" on mac works mostly so, that you do not use software, but copy data to new drive and this defragments it. I might be wrong, but this is a memory I have about the topic. I have never defragmented any drives on my mac for the same reason.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=277463
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
S6L x 2 and PT Virtual Soundcheck... benkrumholz VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 03-29-2016 12:42 PM
S6L Virtual Soundcheck pistonsvox VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 02-20-2016 05:24 AM
FWx Virtual Soundcheck with Studio One jonjarosinski VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 09-08-2014 12:45 PM
S3L virtual soundcheck with Pro Tools 10? jacko VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 09-08-2014 12:45 PM
Virtual soundcheck tom42107 VENUE Live Sound Systems 13 01-07-2009 08:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com