Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 02-27-2011, 05:02 AM

Question Utilizing Drum Loops

I am a guitarist that records music in my own home on a regular basis (the wife is starting to get mad! lol). Anyway, my question is:

Can someone please recommend a good software package that includes " Midi Drum Loops" that can be imported into a session of Pro Tools 8. In addition, midi drum loops that can be edited to one's own taste. I don't mind software that has the individual samples (for example - 300 kick samples, 400 snare samples).

Basically, I want something that has the loops already put together. I am a guitarist that also plays bass guitar; and I find myself spending too much time working on drum patterns (when I'm not a drummer - and don't think like a drummer). As a result, I'm spending less time being creative and playing my instrument, and more time trying to map decent drum loops.

I've heard of Steven Slate Drums, and Ezdrummer; do either of these have loops included in the software. I play mostly rock music, but love many other genres of music as well. Can someone help me out?
Old 02-27-2011, 06:20 AM

Default Re: Utilizing Drum Loops

Hey...!
I personaly use Steven Slate Drums, it's very good for all Pop Rock stuff (you can have a listen at few samples on the official website !) It comes with some pretty MIDI parts & Grooves.
Addictive Drums by XLN is really good aswell, the main advantage over the SSD is that the midi sequences are included in the GUI whereas you have to import MIDI files with SSD.
That's just a personal point of view...Get demos and see if it fits your needs!

Good Luck
DIY Intel Core 2 Quad, P5B Premium,DDR2 6GB, Win 7 Ultimate.
PTLE 8.0.4
002R Unit and MBox Mini
SSL XLogic Alpha Channel.