Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:43 AM
shulala shulala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default dinosaur returns to the fold...

this may just be irritating. sorry if so:

i am just rebuilding a home studio after taking a decade off being "too busy". i am a keyboard player, and experienced software sequencer. sort of. 90's style. i find that things have passed me by. a lot. based on a collaborator who uses garage band and m-box on a mac system, i figured it would be as good as anything to buy the m-powered pro tools for my XP PC. i think i have enough juice with a dimension 8400 at 3.0GHz with 1.5 GB RAM. so i figured i needed an interface. i used to use cakewalk to sequence and drove everything externally with SMPTE. like I said, dinosaur, eh?

so I picked the audiophile 192. bought the m-powered pro tools software. if i got the wrong stuff, too late, don't tell me. it's not even HERE yet. since we all play some analog instruments, i also bought a little mackie mixer. i'm really not sure quite where it fits into the whole project, but i KNOW i will use it just for playing and dinking around, and suspect it will come in handy for monitoring stuff. no monitors yet, but a couple sets of headphones. besides this stuff i have purchased a decent studio condenser mic and i have an old friendly korg controller that i hope to use for entry and to play other sounds.

here is one stumble. sounds. hmmmm... seems like i sold my sound canvas and my e-mu and all i have lying about in a box is the kurzweil micro piano. duh. do i have any sounds? anything come with this m-powered version of pro tools? do i need to go buy sample CDs? i'm still pre-disposed to hardware modules, but that seems dumb with all this DAW stuff lying about. what do i use? certainly not just the lame sound card that came with my dell?

anyone care to work with the developmentally disabled? i just want to lay down some tracks of midi, add some vocals and the occasional real guitar or bass or whatever. i know the depths of my new-millenium ignorance are almost unfathomable - but i figured out voyetra and cakewalk when they still showed up as grey text on blue screens - so at least i know a part from a channel from a track...

any suggestions warmly welcomed. knowledgable admonishments accepted. rude barbs ignored.

peace,

shu
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-22-2005, 04:35 PM
fizbin fizbin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Default Re: dinosaur returns to the fold...

If you get Native Instruments Kontakt 2 (sample player), it comes with just about all the sounds you'd need to start off. Being one of the most popular sample formats, its very easy to expand up also. I believe they just dropped the price as well. This would be my first investment. Looks like you've already got a decent amount of RAM for this sort of thing.

Since the price just dropped, don't buy it from any place where the list price is more than $449, or ask them what the real price is based on a list of $449.

fizbin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2005, 03:59 PM
Bastiaan Bastiaan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nederland
Posts: 6,916
Default Re: dinosaur returns to the fold...

If youi cannot afford that, you could check out sampletank free. The cost is $0 for a few sounds.

www.sampletank.com

(click on "download")
__________________
What's that?
- That's the machine that goes "pling".


Bastiaan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2005, 11:45 AM
shulala shulala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: dinosaur returns to the fold...

thanks a lot. i ordered the kontakt and it will be here saturday...

cheers.

shu
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:36 AM
shulala shulala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: dinosaur returns to the fold...

actually, what i ordered was KOMPAKT, and the sounds are awesome. just got it up and running.

i feel like a kid on the first day with his license who has been handed the keys to a lamborghini. i just KNOW i'm not gonna get all i can outta this thing, and i sure as hell don't want to crash. but what a kick...

shu
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:58 PM
fizbin fizbin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 80
Default Re: dinosaur returns to the fold...

Yes, the KOMPAKT sounds are great, especially at the price. If you need more sample control and mangling possibilities in addition to some extra fantastic samples (think piano and orchestra, plus other all-around winners) you might want to upgrade to Kontakt 2.

Good luck with it all.

fizbin
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dinosaur Help Jim O'Brien Post - Surround - Video 5 03-05-2010 04:42 AM
Minnetonka vs Waves 360 for 5.1 fold down? amptbuddy Post - Surround - Video 2 01-24-2009 05:12 PM
I've come back into the fold - New 003 Rack KamaSutra77 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-30-2007 09:27 PM
Surround Fold-down C Post - Surround - Video 5 05-03-2007 08:05 AM
Is my G4 400 Good enuff or dinosaur? thumbolt68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 09-15-2003 08:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com