Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2021, 04:50 AM
superfeed superfeed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: 3872 Arbutus Trl
Posts: 3
Default Pro Control Main Unit Meters and Counter Freeze

Good People,
My Pro Control main unit’s meters and counter have become intermittent shortly after powering on and then will freeze up with random led’s illuminated. The rest of the controls still seem to function normally. Expansion packs are functioning normally as well. Has anyone experienced this before or have a suggested fix?
Thank you,
John
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2021, 05:23 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,666
Default Re: Pro Control Main Unit Meters and Counter Freeze

Quote:
Originally Posted by superfeed View Post
Good People,
My Pro Control main unit’s meters and counter have become intermittent shortly after powering on and then will freeze up with random led’s illuminated. The rest of the controls still seem to function normally. Expansion packs are functioning normally as well. Has anyone experienced this before or have a suggested fix?
Thank you,
John

Hi,


Could be as simple as a cable needing to be re-seated. a bad connection etc.You should try opening it up and go through the cables connected to the meters and counter. other than that it could be a power supply but would have thought more symptoms would be showing. or could be a component on the controller board for that section of the surface. try the cables first and see.


I believe you can open it up by turning it upside down placing it on a soft surface and remove all the screws on the base.





Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2021, 09:39 AM
superfeed superfeed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: 3872 Arbutus Trl
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Control Main Unit Meters and Counter Freeze

Thank you, Chris. I'll give that a try tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2021, 08:37 AM
superfeed superfeed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: 3872 Arbutus Trl
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Control Main Unit Meters and Counter Freeze

I took both connectors (ribbon cable and Molex) off the meter/counter board last night and spayed out the connectors with de-oxit. Also pulled other end of ribbon cable where it attaches to circuit board and sprayed that too. I bent Molex pins of meter/counter slightly in middle. After reassembly, system worked without freezing up for several hours.

I have been into this main unit several times chasing bad solder joints and loose Molex contacts.

System (while well used) is new to me (as well as Pro Tools). Looking forward to reliability and getting a little higher on the learning curve.

Thank you for your help!

John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Pro Control Main Unit Echo studios Buy & Sell 3 10-01-2018 04:48 PM
FS: D-Control Main unit PTPerson Buy & Sell 1 02-08-2017 09:59 PM
Counter & meters freeze for a while? Alex TCH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 02-15-2002 07:32 AM
Counter & meters freeze for a while? Alex TCH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-14-2002 11:41 AM
Counter & meters freeze for a while? Alex TCH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-14-2002 04:41 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com