Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-11-2013, 09:51 AM
braytunes braytunes is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1
Default Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

Just upgraded to Pro Tools 11 from 8 and bought the new iMac 2.7GHz 16GB RAM etc using Mountain Lion and after several days of long frustrating interactions with the Avid support team (they weren't frustrating) we determined that the Eleven Rack needs uninterrupted USB 2 transfer and won't work with USB 3 ports or a powered USB 2 hub. Very frustrating. The architecture of the Eleven Rack needs uninterrupted USB 2 signal transfer as it has it's own built in DSP. There are no fix updates in the works I'm told.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-11-2013, 10:42 AM
Lachrae Lachrae is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Shreveport, LA The States
Posts: 38
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

This is good to know. I appreciate your post.

For when I build my new rig, to make sure I have a good amount of dedicated USB 2.0 slots.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2013, 07:12 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,342
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

Seriously?!?!?? Does that mean that 11R won't work with the next gen of Mac Pro's??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2013, 06:08 PM
oldgitguy's Avatar
oldgitguy oldgitguy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

It works ok for me.

I'm using a brand new iMac 27" with a quad core 3.4Ghz i7 and 32Gb of RAM.
Two additional separate 4Tb Seagate hard drives on Thunderbolt.
I have a powered USB3 hub by ANKER.
I'm using Mt Lion 10.8.5 and PT 11.0.1.544.

I have no issues with my Eleven Rack connected to the USB port on the back of the iMac or the powered hub.
__________________
___________________________________________
iMac 27" 3.4Ghz i7, 32Gb RAM, 3Tb Fusion Drive for OS, PT11. (Eleven Rack)
OS X 10.8.5
Using an Anker USB3 powered Hub.
Using 2 Seagate Thunderbolt 4Tb External Drives for recording with three partitions.
Thunderbolt to FW800 adapter to additional ext 2Tb HD for data.
Bluetooth enabled for my mouse and keyboard.
MOTU Micro Express for MIDI connected to Motif ES8. And a bunch of guitars...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-26-2013, 05:43 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,806
Post Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

Closing the loop here...

Found your support case which ended with you saying "Problem solved."

Unfortunately the case doesn't specify the root cause. Looks like we did some general troubleshooting and pointed out that other forum users have reported good performance with Belken hubs.

-JC
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2013, 09:12 AM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 530
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

So, will the Eleven Rack work directly into a USB3 port?

I guess spdif thru a thunderbolt or FireWire audio card is an option so you can at least use the computer software.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-04-2013, 04:13 PM
Sam C's Avatar
Sam C Sam C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 530
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

I am hoping for clarification on this topic. One states Eleven does not work with USB3 and one said it does. Any consensus?

Thanks.
__________________
Sam
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-04-2013, 04:28 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,799
Default Re: Eleven Rack Does not work with USB 3!!

I personally have had issues with it on Windows when pluggin in right to the port. lots of cracks and pops like clocking errors and problems controlling the software from in the task manager
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 9900k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
will eleven rack work with pro tools 11 maxidud999 Eleven Rack 8 02-07-2014 10:32 AM
will this work on eleven rack? cowboystewart Eleven Rack 9 11-03-2012 11:27 AM
Eleven Rack Pro Tools 8 disc doesn't work spasm Eleven Rack 4 01-29-2012 09:01 AM
Eleven Rack Art Work - by X-Mann udamann88 Eleven Rack 4 10-21-2011 10:18 AM
I can't get my Eleven Rack to work! The Egg Eleven Rack 22 07-28-2011 11:28 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com