Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2003, 04:29 PM
Dalecoz Dalecoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 613
Default Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

I thought that I would start a thread for users of the Mbox with PT 6 to post what they have found. If you have had any problems and had them resolved, please post them here. I have not seen any other threads that this would conflict with but if there is let me know.

I am using an iMac 400 with 320 megs of RAM and a 40 gig firewire drive on 10.2.4. It is running slower than 5.2 did under 9.2 but it is doing ok. I am having problems bouncing a half hour radio program though as it stops bouncing with various errors and different points. I have not yet been able to pin point the problem but I will post that when I do.
__________________
Mbox
PT 6.4 on OS 10.3.5
iBook G3 700mhz 640 MB
120 gig Maxtor 7200 2 MB Firwire
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-23-2003, 01:37 AM
auxsend1 auxsend1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 871
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

Did you originally try PT6 on 10.2.3 and find the same problems? Personally I would only run Pro Tools on Digi approved versions of OS.

Not saying 10.2.4 is causing your problems, but it would be good to rule it out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-23-2003, 05:00 AM
DesertDude DesertDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

I am using 1 gig Ti-OS10.2.4-768 ram/ Lacie-IBM fw drive
after many unexpected quits. I have it runing smoothly for 5 days no crashes. I did however repair permissions:

Repairing permissions, applications/utilities/disk utilitiy hit the first aid tab, select boot drive on the left, click repair permissions.

[img]images/icons/cool.gif[/img]
__________________
DesertDude

1.25 Alu/1.5 ram/10.3.4
PTLE 6.4-002R-Live-Reason
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-27-2003, 08:24 PM
Dalecoz Dalecoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 613
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

No, I purchased a copy of OS X on ebay that was 10.2.0 and so I downloaded the update but all they had was 10.2.4
So 10.2.3 was no longer available and I didn't know how to go about getting it. I don't think I will mess with it. It is working pretty well and I still have 5.2 so it isn't a big deal.
__________________
Mbox
PT 6.4 on OS 10.3.5
iBook G3 700mhz 640 MB
120 gig Maxtor 7200 2 MB Firwire
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-27-2003, 08:29 PM
mgbasinski mgbasinski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Jose
Posts: 115
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

I'm running 10.2.4 on a dual-500 G4, 2 internal 7200 drives, 640 MB ram, MBox. Not seeing any problems with PT 6 (once I realized I needed to shut off Classic), but so far I've just done a couple small things (basically remixing some previous things I'd done under OS 9 w PT 5)

From what I can tell, 10.2.4 is not any source of problems.

Mark
__________________
iMac G5 2.1Hz /1.5 GB Ram
OS X 10.4.10
MBox/PT LE 7.4
Reason 3.0.4
MOTU 828
Logic Express 8.0.0
Garage Band 4.1
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-28-2003, 03:24 AM
neil_mcdermott neil_mcdermott is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SCOTLAND
Posts: 278
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

this thread is also of interest to me as i am about to make the switch.

see my post elsewhere about portables + MBox and USB ports.

grrrrrrrrrr.
[img]images/icons/rolleyes.gif[/img]
__________________
Neil McDermott
http://www.neilmcdermott.co.uk/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-28-2003, 05:33 AM
vf124 vf124 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Inside Puter
Posts: 1,124
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

Quote:
Personally I would only run Pro Tools on Digi approved versions of OS.
<font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial">Hmmm, on the box of my copy of the PT 6 upgrade, it clearly states "Using Mac OS X Requires 10.2.3 or Above"...
__________________
A Blues Harp and PowerBook is all I need ... along with Analog Signature Pack & BlueTubes 3.0 !!

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-28-2003, 05:38 AM
Dalecoz Dalecoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 613
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

Yes, thats what mine said "or above" I figured it just hadn't been tested yet. My whole computer is not supported but it works.
__________________
Mbox
PT 6.4 on OS 10.3.5
iBook G3 700mhz 640 MB
120 gig Maxtor 7200 2 MB Firwire
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-28-2003, 06:05 AM
SoundWrangler SoundWrangler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 373
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

No problems here, running Mbox, PT6 & 10.2.4 on an iMac G3/400 (DV SE). However, I haven't yet bounced out anything near 30 minutes, so I can't really say about that situation. I've got 640MB RAM on that machine, & while I'm not 100% sure this is YOUR problem, my suspicion is that running PT6 & OS X with only 320MB RAM is probably not a very reliable scenario, especially for bouncing long or complex sessions. (You should probably drop the $100 USD to find out, swapping in a 512MB module - I found this made a notable difference even in PT 5.xx, & certainly couldn't make your life any WORSE!) I assume you've already scanned your FW drive w/your preferred disk repair utility, & de-fragged/optimized it... I don't know if assigning more RAM to the PT6 app itself may help for bouncing out long durations, but it probably couldn't hurt.

(Anyone else know about about this? Does Bouncing longer durations (like 30 min. or more) in itself demand a relatively higher RAM allocation to the PT6 program?)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-28-2003, 06:37 AM
Dalecoz Dalecoz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 613
Default Re: Pro Tools 6 with Mbox tips

I bounced several normal (2-3 minute) songs yesterday with no problem. I have already ordered more memory but it hasn't gotten here yet. I'll have 512 then which is the recommended amount. They say the minimum is 384 so I was glad it even allowed me to install without that much.
__________________
Mbox
PT 6.4 on OS 10.3.5
iBook G3 700mhz 640 MB
120 gig Maxtor 7200 2 MB Firwire
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mbox pro 3 and subwoofer tips fsilano macOS 2 10-14-2012 05:36 AM
Vocal Tips/Mbox 2 Pro Help BicoastalAffair General Discussion 2 11-05-2008 01:40 PM
tips on upgrade from mbox. drummerfreak33 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 02-05-2005 11:34 AM
tips for best MBox performance on ibook anders 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-19-2004 03:17 PM
PC Configuration: Allen´s Tips for Mbox? igormpc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-17-2002 10:21 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com